List of the 25+ Best Vegan Condiments to Always Keep On Hand

Some might think that going vegan means giving up flavor in exchange for bland food, but with the abundance of flavorful vegan condiments available today, that is definitely not the case!  

Regardless if you're cooking veggies, tacos or pasta, here's a list of the best vegan condiments and "fixins" that I like to keep in my kitchen.

They're all great additions to your vegan shopping list!

List of Vegan Condiments

  • Ketchup
  • Mustard
  • Worcestershire Sauce (if vegan)
  • Barbecue Sauce (watch for honey)
  • Vegan Mayonnaise
  • Honey Mustard (homemade without honey or certain brands)
  • Hummus
  • Sriracha
  • Tapatio Hot Sauce
  • Tabasco Hot Sauces
  • Frank's Red Hot (includes Buffalo Sauce)
  • Vegan Ranch
  • Guacamole
  • Soy Sauce
  • Tamari
  • Wasabi
  • Vegan Butters
  • Vegan Sour Cream
  • Salsa
  • Vegan Cream Cheeses
  • Enchilada Sauce
  • Horseradish
  • Duck Sauce
  • Hoisin Sauce
  • Relish
  • Sambal Garlic Chili Sauces
  • A1 Steak Sauce
  • Teriyaki Sauce
  • Marinara Sauce
  • Chipotle Sauce
  • Vegan Tartar Sauce
  • Vegan Oyster Sauce
  • Kimchi (if its vegan)

Ketchup

Heinz Ketchup, Tomato, 44 Ounce (3 count)

Ketchup is a staple condiment that contains few ingredients, most of them plant based; however, some strict vegans avoid refined sugar (which is a common ketchup ingredient) as it is sometimes processed using bone char. The good news is that sugar which is certified organic has not been processed using bone char; therefore, organic ketchup is safe for even strict vegans.

If you aren't concerned about refined sugars, then any ketchup is up for grabs. If you want to avoid refined sugars, simply purchase organic ketchup!

Some of my favorite brands of ketchup are:

  • Heinz
  • Annie's

But you can use almost any brand because they're all pretty similar.

Read Also: Is Ketchup Vegan?

Mustard

Heinz Yellow Mustard, 20 Ounce

Thank goodness mustard (aside from some dijons and honey mustard) is vegan because it is a must topped on veggie hot dogs and burgers! I've been dying to get my hands on the new Beyond Meat Sausage, and I know it's going to be superb drizzled with that tangy yellow goodness!

If you're looking at dijon mustards, be sure to double check the ingredients for egg-whites and possibly dairy.

Get the full scoop on vegan mustard here and keep reading to learn about making your own vegan honey mustard!

My favorite mustard mustard brands are:

"Honey" Mustard (Sometimes)

DAIYA Hon'y Mustard Dressing, 8.36 OZ

Obviously, traditional honey mustard is not vegan since one of the two primary ingredients is honey. However, there are some vegan alternatives available that aim to capture the sweetness of honey mustard without the actual honey.  

Personally, I like to blend vegan Dijon Mustard with a few Medjool dates to capture the flavor profile.

If you don't feel like making your own, be sure to try Follow Your Heart's version or Daiya's.

See Also: Vegan Salad Dressing Brands

Worcestershire Sauce (Vegan Version)

Annies Homegrown Organic & Vegan Worcestershire Sauce, 6.25 Ounce

While there are vegan options for Worcestershire sauce, most brands get their umami flavor from Anchovies—yes you read that right!

That means you should double check the label when buying this condiment.

I love using Worcestershire on veggies, in stir fry and in veggie meat loaf.

My favorite vegan Worcestershire sauce is Annie's Vegan Worcestershire Sauce.

See Also: Vegan Worcestershire Sauce Brands

Barbecue Sauce 

Organicville Organic BBQ Sauce, 13.5 oz

No need to miss out on that delicious barbecue flavor that you enjoyed in your pre-vegan days because most barbecue sauce brands are vegan; however, the most common non-vegan ingredient to watch out for is honey. 

Although I still love simple BBQ vegetable skewers, my new favorite way to use barbecue sauce is to make Pulled Cauliflower BBQ Sandwiches or use it to make Lentil Sloppy Joe's. Yes, it's as divine as it sounds! 

See also: Vegan BBQ Sauce Brands

Mayonnaise or "Veganaise"

Hampton Creek Just Mayo Vegan Eggless Soy-Free Kosher Mayonnaise - Pack of 2

Unfortunately, traditional mayonnaise uses eggs as one of the ingredients so most store bought mayonnaise brands are not vegan. 

If you find yourself needing mayo for a recipe or as a creamy sandwich spread, you can either make your own or seek out some specialty brands. 

They're becoming more and more common.

Most vegan mayonaisse recipes combine soy milk and some kind of plant-based oil. This one is only four ingredients and can be adapted to get the exact texture you'd like. 

There are also some commercial vegan "mayo" brands available, but you will likely need to head to a specialty store or order them online. Both Hellmann's and Primal Kitchen have vegan versions available. 

See more vegan mayo brands here.

Hummus

Casbah Authentic Grains, Hummus Chickpea Dip Mix, 6 Ounce (Pack of 12)

Hummus is almost always vegan, and it is a staple of many vegan diets because it is both filling and so easy to make. On top of that, it is versatile and can be adapted to just about any flavor you'd like!

The primary ingredient of every hummus recipe is ground up chickpeas. Tahini is usually added for flavor and richness. Tradtional hummus is flavored with lemon juice, olive oil, and salt, but you can add other flavor options easily. Try adding red pepper or artichoke. You can use it as a veggie dip or on top of pita bread for a delicious appetizer or lunch option. 

Most store-bought options are vegan -- even the common brands like Sabra, but keep an eye on hummus dips brought to a party. Sometimes people add feta cheese which is the most common ingredient to watch out for.

See Also: Vegan Hummus Brands

Sriracha

Huy Fong, Sriracha Hot Chili Sauce, 9 Ounce Bottle(pack of 6)

Sriracha, like many hot sauces, is completely vegan! And that's great news because this spicy sauce is so versatile that it can add a dash of flavor to just about anything.

You can make your own with a combination of vinegar, peppers, and spices, but it requires fermentation, so if you don't want to wait it out, you can grab a bottle of the most popular brand from Huy Fong Foods at just about any grocery store.   

Texas Pete Hot Sauce

TEXAS PETE Hot Sauce, 12 oz

Texas Pete is a popular hot sauce brand that has a few different flavor variations. Like most hot sauces, it is completely vegan, containing a simple (but delicious!) blend of peppers, vinegar, and spices.

 (Take note: this brand's Honey Mustard sauce does contain real honey, so it's not vegan.)

Read Next: Is Taco Bell Hot Sauce Vegan? / Vegan Hot Sauce Brands

Tapatio Hot Sauce

Tapatio Hot Sauce 5 Ounce (Pack of 3)

Tapatio is a popular hot sauce brand that you will find on the tables of many Mexican restaurants, and you'll be happy to know that it is completely vegan! 

Grab a few bottles to keep on hand and add flavor to tofu scrambles, tacos, and sandwiches.

It's similar to Louisiana Hot Sauce which is also vegan

Frank's Red hot

Frank's Redhot Original Cayenne Pepper Sauce, Fat Free Hot Wing Sauce, 23 oz

Frank's Red Hot sauce is another popular hot sauce brand, and it is also completely vegan! Their Buffalo Wing Sauce is also vegan (which will be touched on in the Buffalo sauce section).

Frank's sauce comes in an array of flavors, so if you're looking to expand your hot sauce options or turn up the heat, check out their variety

Vegan Ranch

HAMPTON CREEK Just Ranch Dressing, 12 Fluid Ounce

Traditional ranch sauce and dips are not vegan because they contain buttermilk. Some recipes also use yogurt or sour cream as a base, but most commercially-available ranch options contain dairy. 

You can either make your own with a vegan mayo and a non-dairy milk or buy some of the popular brands that are on the market today such as Daiya or Just by Hamtpon Creek.

Primal Kitchen has a vegan ranch that's creamy and delicious. 

See Also: Vegan Ranch & Salad Dressing Brands

Vegan ranch makes a great veggie dip and is also awesome on top of veggie burgers or on salads. 

Buffalo sauce

Frank's RedHot Wings Buffalo Sauce, Wing Marinade, 23 oz, Pack of 6

Many traditional buffalo sauces are not vegan because they contain butter, so be careful if you're getting one that's made in a restaurant. 

However, Frank's Buffalo Sauce does not contain butter and so it's an option that is both vegan and mainstream, which means you can find it in most grocery stores.

If you're getting a different brand, you should be okay if it's butter flavoring (artificial or natural). 

Try Frank's buffalo sauce on baked cauliflower or drizzled with vegan ranch on a salad for an extra flavor kick. 

See Also: Is Buffalo Sauce Vegan? / Vegan Buffalo Sauce Brands

Guacamole

Guacamole is almost always vegan. The basic recipe is simply avocados, tomatoes, garlic, lime, and salt. You can of course make adaptations to make it your own. Try adding some roasted corn or diced jalapeno. 

Guacamole is an excellent way to add healthy fats (which help with nutrient absorption of fat soluble vitamins) to a wide variety of meals. Dollop some on top of a tofu scramble or add it to a bean burrito. 

Soy Sauce

Kikkoman Soy Sauce, 64-Ounce Bottle (Pack of 1)

Soy sauce is a vegan condiment that's made from soy, wheat, and salt. 

It can be a great condiment option to add salty flavor to a dish while also elevating the flavor profile and making it more sophisticated. Try it on stir fry or just drizzled on veggies. 

Kikkoman and San-J both make delicious soy sauces.  

Tamari

San-J Tamari Gluten Free Soy Sauce,  Black Bottle, 10 Ounce

Tamari is a type of soy sauce that is typically made without wheat and has a slightly different flavor profile. Tamari is a great vegan option, and it is also a good choice for people who are searching for gluten-free condiments.

You can typically find it in Asian specialty stores, but some mainstream grocery stores also carry it.

Use it on stir fry or to flavor tofu or veggies for a nice, salty flavor. 

Ponzu Sauce

If you've got soy sauce, lemon and some seaweed then you can make a vegan ponzu sauce! Even many brands you buy at the store of ponzo sauce are most likely vegan. Just watch out for fish or bonito flakes.

See: Is Ponzu Sauce Vegan?

Wasabi

S&B Japanese Wasabi Paste (Oroshi Nama Wasabi) in Plastic Tube, 1.51oz

Actual wasabi is made from a rare Japanese variety of horseradish, and it is completely vegan, but it is also completely expensive! The green paste that usually accompanies your sushi order is almost certainly not made from real wasabi. It's still a plant-based condiment, though, and is vegan. 

Wasabi paste can add a big burst of spicy flavor, so use it sparingly!

Tabasco Hot Sauce

Tabasco Original Sauce, Pepper, 12 Ounce

Tabasco hot sauce is one of the most popular brands, and you can find them in lots of restaurants as well as most grocery stores. Their green jalapeno brand is a particularly popular variety because it has a milder flavor that still packs a spicy bite. Tabasco brand hot sauces are all vegan, including their "Buffalo" flavor. 

Related Articles: Is Tabasco Sauce Vegan?

Horseradish

Atomic Horseradish - Extra Hot - '2 Pack' - (6 Oz Jars)

Horseradish itself, which is a root vegetable, is vegan, but many of the sauces made from it are not because they contain dairy. 

Be sure to check labels carefully if buying a conventional horseradish sauce, but you can get that spicy bite by making it yourself or choosing a vegan-specific brand that substitutes other ingredients for the dairy. 

Just make sure you get a jar that's 100% horseradish that's not a pre-made sauce.

Try it on sandwiches or even on top of mashed potatoes for a delicious kick. 

Follow Your Heart also has a creamy vegan version.

Duck Sauce

Dai Day Sauce Duck 40 Oz (1134 gms)

Duck sauce is the translucent orange-hued sauce popular in Chinese takeout. It has a delicious sweet and sour taste, and it is typically vegan. Most versions are simply vinegar and sugar. 

You can make your own and completely customize the level of spice. This recipe calls for apricot jam to add some density to the sweetness. 

Try it on spring rolls or any of your favorite Chinese dishes. 

See Also: Is Duck Sauce Vegan? / Is Plum Sauce Vegan?

Vegan butter

Barlean's Butter Flavored Coconut Oil, 16 Ounce

Butter is clearly not vegan, but there are many dairy-free butter alternatives available. 

You can make a creamy, spreadable homemade version that starts with coconut oil and uses turmeric for coloring, so it really looks like the real thing!

You can spread it on toast, add it to oatmeal, or put a dab on muffins to make your meal a little more delectable.  

There are also plenty of commercially-avaiable vegetable-based butter alternatives, and any grocery store is likely to have brands like Earth Balance on hand.  

See Also: Is Butter Vegan?

Salsa

Pace Chunky Salsa, Medium, 64 oz. Bottle

Salsa is a great vegan condiment that adds flavors and delicious nutrients to so many dishes. Keep a few jars on hand at all times and find the spiciness that works best for you because you can do so much with salsa. 

Serve with chips for a quick and easy appetizer or to entertain last-minute guests. Put it on top of veggie burgers to add a kick of flavor. 

This is also a condiment that's easy to find at just about any grocery store in a wide variety of flavors. 

See Also: Vegan Salsa Brands

Vegan Cream Cheese

Cream cheese is not vegan, but there are vegan alternatives available. 

Follow Your Heart and Kite Hill both have vegan versions commercially available, though you may have to hunt a little to find stores that regularly carry them. 

Another alternative is to make your own using soy yogurt. This recipe adds onion and dill for a great, savory flavor that's excellent on top of crackers or bagels. 

See Also: Vegan Cheese Brands

Tahini

Pepperwood Organic Stone-Ground Whole Sesame Tahini Paste, Unhulled, Unsalted, Non-GMO, Gluten-Free, Kosher, Vegan, USDA Organic, Peanut-Free, 14 Ounce (2-Pack)

Tahini is a wonderful vegan condiment that serves as a key ingredient for hummus and can be added to lots of other dishes to give a boost of healthy fats and rich texture. 

The basic recipe for tahini just takes sesame seeds and olive oil, but the commercially available brands at your local grocery store are almost certainly vegan, too. 

Try mixing it with buffalo sauce to make for a creamy, rich dressing that's excellent for dipping, on tacos, or added to slaws. 

See Also: Is Tahini Sauce Vegan?

Sambal Garlic Chili Sauce

Huey Fong Sambal Oelek Chili Paste 8 Oz

Sriracha gets all the fame and glory, but its sophisticated cousin samba garlic chili sauce deserves some of that attention. This dish is completely vegan, containing simply chili, vinegar, and spices. This thick, chunky hot sauce brings all the spicy flavor but also adds some texture and depth to a dish. 

Huy Fong Foods, best known for their ubiquitous sriarcha sauce, makes an excellent version. 

Hoisin Sauce

Soy Vay Marinade & Sauce, Hoisin Garlic, 22 Ounces

Typically found in Asian cooking, the main ingredients in Hoisin sauce are soy sauce, miso paste, vinegar, corn starch and some additives. Most, if not all, brands that you find should be 100% vegan. This includes popular brands like Kikkoman.

See also: Is Hoisin Sauce Vegan?

Relish

Heinz Dill Relish, 26 Ounce

Relish can add a delicious bit of crunch to sandwiches and salads, and the ingredients are almost certainly vegan with most simply containing cucumbers, vinegar, and spices. If you are being health conscious though, you may want to double check the labels. A lot of commercial relish contains processed sweeteners like high fructose corn syrup.

If you want to make sure you get the flavor just right and control exactly what ingredients go into it, the best bet is to make your own. It doesn’t take that long to make, and it can keep for a month, so you can stock up!

Vegan Sour Cream

Of course, traditional sour cream is not vegan, but there are vegan alternatives available to help give your dishes a creamy texture or to add a little creaminess to a taco or dip. It can be a great alternative to cheese dips that has a neutral flavor profile just begging for some customized spices. 

You can make your own using cashews as the base or look for commercially available brands (which are likely to be found in most supermarkets these days). Follow Your Heart has a vegan sour cream made primarily from soy. 

Enchilada Sauce

Old El Paso Enchilada Sauce, Mild Red, 19 Ounce

Most commercially available canned or jarred enchilada sauce is vegan, but double check the label to be sure. Some homemade recipes call for chicken broth, so if you're eating at a restaurant or a potluck, you should ask the chef about the base. 

This sauce can be great on top of bean enchiladas or to liven up dips.

See Also: Vegan Enchilada Sauce Brands

A1 Steak Sauce

Source: Walmart.com

Yes, A1 Steak Sauce made it to this list. 

Learn more about it here: Is A1 Steak Sauce Vegan?

Teriyaki Sauce

Source: Walmart.com

There are plenty of vegan teriyaki sauces out there for when you want to have a quick Asian-style meal right at home. The only thing you need to be aware of is honey, which can be added from time to time.

Read also...

Vegan Tartar Sauce

Did you know that you can get vegan tartar sauce? That's right, that creamy and pickly sauce that's usually served with fish is available egg-free!

Read: Is Tartar Sauce Vegan? Vegan Tartar Sauce Brands

mARINARA sAUCE

Marinara sauce is great for dipping all sorts of things - it's not just for topping pasta. You can use it to top grilled tofu, mix it with lentils or pretty much anything you want to jazz up.

Check out...

Chipotle Sauce

Chipotle sauces without mayo are great for bringing smokiness and depth to pretty much anything. It's especially good with rice or any sort of whole grains.

But careful, not all chipotle sauces are vegan!

See Also..

Kimchi

Kimchi is a cross between a condiment and a side -- but it's great as both. Some brands do have fish or non-vegan components, so be sure to grab a vegan kimchi brand.

Vegan Whipped Cream

Did you know that you can buy whipped cream that's totally vegan? While it's certainly not a savory condiment, it's great for topping dairy-free ice creams when you want a special treat.

Learn more about vegan whipped cream here.

Vegan Oyster Sauce

Oyster sauce may not sound like a vegan condiment, but that doesn't mean it's not!

Traditional oyster sauce does contain fish, but there are plenty of brands making it with mushrooms nowadays.

It's a great way to add deep flavor to Asian-style cooking.

Learn more: Is Oyster Sauce Vegan? Vegan Oyster Sauce Brands & Substitutes

General Tso Sauce

Big on Chinese cuisine? Did you know that you can buy General Tso Sauce right at the store? And most of the time it's vegan!

Gravy

Did you know that there are a ton of vegan gravy brands? Yup, it's not all made from animal stock and it's just as delicious.

With the holidays coming up, be sure to check out our list of vegan gravy packets and brands.

Cranberry Sauce

Cranberry sauce is a combination of a side dish and a condiment. Luckily, it's pretty much all vegan. Watch for excess sugar, but you can opt to make your own at home with a healthier ingredient list.

  • Is Cranberry Sauce Vegan?
  • Is Ocean Spray Cranberry Sauce Vegan?
  • Other Asian Condiment Questions

    Have you got questions about other vegan condiments that we haven't listed? Odds are we've covered them here...

    Wrap Up

    As you can see, eating a vegan diet doesn't mean giving up the flavor and delicious variety of foods available. Some condiments take a little creative thinking and culinary experimentation to recreate, but many of your favorite condiments are already vegan-friendly and as convenient as grabbing them off the shelf! 

    Vegan Condiment List | Vegan Condiment Products | Vegan Condiments Food | Vegan Salad Dressings | Vegan Ranch | Vegan Sauces

    Leave a Comment

    Pin321
    Reddit
    Share1
    Tweet