Is Unagi Sauce Vegan? What You Need to Know…

Suzukatsu Sushi Unagi Sauce, 8.81 Ounce -- 30 per case.

Source: Amazon

  

"Unagi" is the Japanese word that translates to "freshwater eel."

Unagi sauce, or eel sauce, is a condiment used in Japanese cooking to top grilled eel or unagi sushi. It's thick, sweet and salty.

What to Ask When Dining Out

That unagi sauce you want to try on a veggie (mainly sweet potato roll) the next time you go out for sushi is probably in the safe zone.

Read Also: Best French Fry Cutters for Sweet Potatoes

But you should use the same precautions with restaurant-prepared unagi sauce as you would with eel sauce.

The terms "unagi sauce" and "eel sauce" are often used interchangeably, and eel sauce *may* contain eel eggs or fish stock.

Thus, some unagi sauces may not be vegan, though you're most likely to encounter the plant-based ones - especially if you're dining in the States or a Western country.

To be sure, check with your server.

And enjoy!

 

Leave a Comment