Let's find out the answer...
Is Louisiana Hot Sauce Vegan?
So is Louisiana-style hot sauce vegan? The answer is yes. It's a national vegan treasure - it goes great on any mock meats or to dip veggies in...
Beloved on just about every continent, hot sauces come in all sorts of varieties and flavors. Louisiana-style hot sauce, a vinegary type most famously exemplified by Tabasco sauce, is the kind most commonly produced in the U.S. Hot sauce makes the world go 'round.
Let's peruse the ingredients...
There's actually a Louisiana-style hot sauce called Louisiana Brand Hot Sauce (linked above). It's a traditional Louisiana hot sauce in that it has but three simple ingredients:
Ingredients: aged peppers, vinegar, salt.
Check out this vegan starter kit
Now you see why Louisiana-style hot sauces are so hot and tangy - they have a short, vegan ingredients list of hot peppers, vinegar and salt.
For a little comparison, Huy Fong Sriracha is a chili sauce with other ingredients like garlic and sugar and is therefore not a Louisiana-style hot sauce.
You're probably more likely to find Louisiana Brand's hot sauce online than in most American cuisine restaurants and cafes. Odds are you'll be served Tabasco or another Louisiana-style hot sauce.
If you see "Louisiana" or "Louisiana-style" on the label of a hot sauce bottle, it's vegan - and super hot!
A similar Mexican-style sauce would be Tapatio which is also vegan.
More Vegan Condiments
You can find more vegan hot sauces and condiments on our list of vegan condiments to keep on hand.
Sustainability is also part of the vegan lifestyle. We've got your simplified grocery shopping list with plenty of health-conscious tips and hacks.
If you like Louisiana hot sauce, you might be interested in these, too...
Want to take all of the guess-work around going vegan?
Click here to check out the Vegan Starter Kit.