Is Tapatio Vegan? Let’s Look at Their Hot Sauce…

Disclosure: As Amazon Associates we earn from qualifying purchases. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission at no additional cost to you.

In this article, we’re going to be looking at Tapatio hot sauce and whether or not it’s vegan. We’ll answer the question and take a closer look at the ingredients.

Is Tapatio Vegan?

tapatio hot sauce

If you’re a fan of spicy, you’ll be pleased to know that Tapatio hot sauce is totally vegan. There are no animal products in the ingredient list so feel free to pour it on sandwiches, salads, tofu scramble or whatever!

Read Also: Is Sriracha Vegan?

Ingredients Analysis

Let’s take a closer look at the ingredients…

  • Water
  • Red Peppers
  • Salt
  • Spices
  • Garlic
  • Acetic Acid
  • Xanthan Gum
  • Sodium Benzoate As A Preservative

As you can see, there aren’t any obvious animal products in this hot sauce.

The only three “weird” looking ingredients in Tapatio hot sauce that are xanthan gum, acetic acid and sodium benzoate.

Side Note: Trying to figure out how to go vegan in a healthy and sustainable way?
Check out this vegan starter kit

So let’s dive a little bit deeper into what these are and assess their vegan status.

  • Xanthan Gum – Thickening agent that’s manufactured by fermenting sugar with a bacteria called Xanthomonas campestris.
  • Acetic Acid – Aside from water, this is the main component in vinegar. If vinegar wasn’t diluted, it would be all acetic acid.
  • Sodium Benzoate – A preservative that’s produced by combining sodium hydroxide with benzoic acid.

From a vegan perspective, these aren’t ingredients to be concerned about. Although they aren’t whole plant foods, there isn’t any animal products means they are perfectly OK.

Wrap Up

Being vegan is about avoiding labeled animal products pure and simple. If you don’t see meat, eggs, dairy, fish, honey, gelatin, etc on the label, then it’s probably not overly concerning yourself and analyzing every single ingredient.

I always like to keep it simple and encourage others to do the same.

Vegans can enjoy Tapatio and almost any hot sauce (such as Louisiana) on the market without worrying!

Looking for more vegan condiments including fixins like relish or Asian-style like  Hoisin sauce?

Check out this page to see our huge list…

Wait! Before you go....

Want to take all of the guess-work around going vegan?

Click here to check out the Vegan Starter Kit.