Is Duck Sauce Vegan?
The answer is yes! Duck sauce is almost always vegan.
Despite it's name, it's not typically made from ducks or anything of that nature. Rather, it's an apricot-based sweet sauce that can be put on almost anything.
It's traditionally served at Chinese restaurants or with take-out in those little packets. As long as you get a veg-friendly dish from there, don't worry about lathering on the duck sauce!
As mentioned, the first ingredient in duck sauce, will usually be apricots. The rest is sweeteners, vinegar, thickeners and preservatives.
Here's an example from Roland which is pictured above...
Ingredients: Apricots, Water, Corn Syrup, High Fructose Corn Syrup, White Vinegar, Modified Corn Starch, Salt, Sodium Benzoate, Potassium Sorbate (as a Preservative), Spices, Sulphur Dioxide (as a Preservative).
Of course, you can make it at home with fresher ingredients and no preservatives. Check out this video below...
Of course, disregard the fact that he says you can use it on pork chops. Stick to mock meats or tofu and seitan!
Other Vegan Sauces & Condiments
Hey, I’m Joey. I’ve been cooking since I was a little kid and love everything about it. You can find my writing about food, kitchen appliances (such as blenders) and much more. Thanks for stopping by!
Want to take all of the guess-work around going vegan?
Click here to check out the Vegan Starter Kit.