Is Teriyaki Sauce Vegan? The Real Answer…

Disclosure: As Amazon Associates we earn from qualifying purchases. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission at no additional cost to you.

The short answer is that it depends.Some Teriyaki sauce recipes call for honey which is a non-vegan ingredient – at least according to most vegans.

However, others are sweetened with sugar and other means.

Keep in mind that if you’re out at a restaurant, it’s likely that theywon’t be using honey. It’s simply too expensive of an ingredient, so most places will avoid it.

That said, it’s always best to ask your server when dining out if you want to be 100% sure.

teriyaki sauce


Teriyaki sauce is primarily made of four ingredients…

  • Soy Sauce
  • Sake or Mirin – a type of alcohol.
  • Sweetener – which might be honey.
  • Ginger

As mentioned, the main non-veg component in it would be the sweeter.

Side Note: Trying to figure out how to go vegan in a healthy and sustainable way?
Check out this vegan starter kit

When you’re buying Teriyaki sauce in the grocery store, the ingredient statement is going to look slightly longer and more complicated, but the base of the ingredients remain the same.

Ingredients: Soy Sauce (Water, Wheat, Soybeans, Salt, Ethyl Alcohol), Water, Brown Sugar, Pineapple Juice Concentrate, Sugar, Corn Starch, White Wine, Sake Wine (Wine, Salt), Less Than 2% Of: Ginger Puree, Garlic, Distilled Vinegar, Locust Bean Gum, Ginger, Canola Oil, Natural Flavor, Chili Paste (Red Chili Peppers, Distilled Vinegar, Salt, Xanthan Gum), Salt. CONTAINS: SOY, WHEAT.

As you can see, this sauce from PF Changs doesn’t have any animal products.

As we’ve mentioned in our other article:“Is Sugar Vegan”, the addition of sugar into products may sometimes be filtered with animal by-products.

However, we suggest that youdon’t worry about these sorts of details and focus on avoiding all labeled animal products from your lifestyle.That’s the most effective way to reduce animal suffering on an individual level.

Other Condiments

If you want to learn more about vegan condiments, we’ve got tons of content that you’ll find useful.

First – be sure to check out ourList of the Best 25 Vegan Condiments here.

  • Also find out if soy sauce is vegan at this post.
  • Wait! Before you go....

    Want to take all of the guess-work around going vegan?

    Click here to check out the Vegan Starter Kit.