is sriracha vegan

Is Sriracha Vegan?

At Thrive Cuisine, we work hard to make you the best recommendations on food & appliances in the kitchen. One of the ways we support ourselves is by getting a small commission on some purchases made through our links at no cost to our readers.

ANSWER: Yes! Sriracha sauce is typically going to be vegan. Most chili pastes in any sort of Asian cuisine are a combination of chili peppers, sugar, vinegar and spices. There are a few things you might want to know about Srirachi's vegan status, though so read on!

What is Sriracha Exactly?

Sriracha sauce, mainly recognized as the stuff with the rooster on it is a spicy and semi-sweet chili-pepper based sauce that originated in Thailand. It got its name because it was first spotted in restaurants in a Taiwanese city named Si Racha.

With its growing popularity, many people in the West are replacing ketchup with Sriracha sauce on common foods and also put it on foods that you would never expect. We personally use it all the time in Asian style pasta dishes or seitan stir fry. It almost tastes like a less sweet and more spicy BBQ sauce in our opinion.

What Brands of Sriracha Do you Recommend?

Taste wise, all brands of Sriracha are going to be pretty similar, so there's none that you can really go wrong with. All organic brands will give you the opportunity to avoid preservatives and you'll know for sure that the sugar wasn't processed with any animal products*. Here's what we recommend, though:

If you want to check out the Organic Sriracha go with Simply Natural brand.

If you want to stick with the conventional go with the Classic Huy Fong Sriracha

What Does the Ingredient Statement Look Like?

The most well known brand of Sriracha by Hoy Fong has the following ingredient statement:

Ingredients: Chili, Sugar, Salt, Garlic, Distilled Vinegar, Potassium Sorbate, Sodium Bisulfite as Preservatives, and Xanthan Gum.​

There are also organic Sriracha brands out there with much cleaner ingredient statements and no preservatives.  A typical ingredient statement usually looks something like this:

Ingredients: Organic red jalapeno pepper puree, water, organic red bell pepper puree, organic sugar, organic white vinegar, organic garlic puree, salt, organic garlic, powdered organic habanero peppers, xanthan gum.

What About the Sugar in Sriracha?

​It's true that some sugar in the supply chain isn't 100% vegan due to the processing methods. However, given the complexity of the food supply, we don't recommend worrying about this for products with added sugar, like Sriracha sauce. If you want to be 100% safe you can go with an Organic Sriracha, but it is your choice.

Being vegan shouldn't be burdensome or complex - so  stressing over dubious or trace ingredients can be counterproductive. See our full position on sugar here.

Vegan Recipes with Sriracha

Sriracha gives you the opportunity to add unique and complex flavors to veggies which is always a good thing. From noodle dishes, to burgers, or for straight up dipping any veggies, sriracha is awesome! Check out some of our favorites below:

Enjoy folks!

About the Author Joey Bruno

Cooking healthy, delicious, plant-based meals has been Joey’s true passion since he went vegan in 2015. He has a masters in Nutrition and Food Science and is committed to making the internet a place of education and knowledge rather than misinformation and clickbait. He currently lives in Delaware with his wife.

Leave a Comment: