Is Chipotle Sauce Vegan? Do vegan chipotle sauce brands exist? We cover exactly what you need to know in this easy to understand article.
Find the answers and brands to buy below...
Is Chipotle Sauce Vegan?
Sometimes. It simply it depends which type of chipotle sauce you're talking about.
If you're talking about a chipotle-mayo, then it's usually NOT vegan.
Let's dive into some of the varieties of chipotle sauce and see if they're vegan or not...
If you're specifically concerned about Taco Bell, see the post we did on Taco Bell chipotle mayo.
Vegan Chipotle Sauce Brands
Here's an example of a chipotle mayo sauce that's actually vegan - most of them are not. JUST is the #1 brand to look for when it comes to vegan thick creamy sauces. They have all sorts of dressings from ranch, Caesar and much more.
Ingredients: Non-GMO Expeller Pressed Canola Oil, Filtered Water, Chipotle Puree (chipotle, water, salt, citric acid), White Vinegar, 2% or less of the following: Organic Sugar, Salt, Red Pepper Sauce (red peppers, vinegar, salt), Pea Protein, Spices, Garlic, Modified Food Starch, Lemon Juice Concentrate, Fruit and Vegetable Juice (color), Calcium Disodium EDTA (to preserve freshness).
La Costena Chipotle Sauce
This is a canned chipotle sauce that's commonly found in the ethnic section of many grocery stores. The ingredients are as follows...
Ingredients: Tomato Puree, Vinegar, Iodized Salt, Soybean Oil, Onion, Chipotle Peppers, Sugar, Paprika and Spices.
As you can see, there are no animal products to be found. It's vegan-approved!
Herdez Chipotle Sauce
Here's another popular brand of chipotle sauce by Herdez. The ingredients are as follows...
Ingredients: Water, Tomato Paste, Distilled Vinegar, Soybean Oil, Iodized Salt, Chipotle Pepper, Dehydrated Onion, Sugar, Garlic Powder, Xanthan Gum, Spices
Cholula Chipotle Hot Sauce
Now my personal favorite, Cholula! Here's the ingredients...
Ingredients: Water, Vinegar (White & Apple), Sugar, Peppers, (Chipotle, Guajillo, Arbol & Piquin), Salt, Natural Flavors, Spices, Xanthan Gum, Silicon Dioxide, Citric Acid & Caramel.
Again, it's mainly peppers and spices - no animal products here.
Non-Vegan Chipotle Sauce Example
Kraft Chipotle Aioli
Now, here's one of those chipotle-style mayo's I talked about. And here are the ingredients...
Ingredients: Soybean Oil, Water, Chipotle Pepper Puree, Vinegar, Eggs, Salt, Contains Less Than 2% Of Sugar, Egg Yolks, Modified Foodstarch, Natural Flavor, Citric Acid, Lemon Juice Concentrate, Dried Garlic, Dried Onions, Paprika, Mustard Oil, Calcium Disodium Edta (To Preserve Freshness), Potassium Sorbate And Sodium Benzoate (To Preserve Freshness).
As you can see, it's got eggs to give it the creamy-mayo style. In other words, not vegan.