Is Oatmeal Vegan? (Yes, But You Must Beware Of These Brands…)

Wondering if oatmeal is vegan? You've come to the right place. This guide has everything you need to know about the vegan status of oatmeal and which brands to stay away from.

is oatmeal vegan - yes but beware of these brands

Let's get to it...


Is Oatmeal Vegan?

Plain oatmeal, meaning just oats, is 100 percent vegan. However, premade oatmeal at restaurants and hotels may contain butter or milk, so it's always better to ask if you're unsure. 

What about the little packets of oatmeal you mix with hot water? Many people wonder if these also contain dairy. The answer is that some do and some do not, which means that you'll need to check the labels if you're shopping for any flavor other than plain.

Keep reading to get the lowdown on oatmeal and our vegan recommendations for chain restaurants, coffee shops and popular brands at the grocery store.

But for a bit more background, you might want to check out how oats go from the farm to the grocery store...


Rolled Oats

It's Vegan - Most people are used to rolled oats, the bases of traditional oatmeal. These are what you're going to find in the big brands like Quaker Oats.

Rolled oats, also called old-fashioned oats, have had the plant husks removed. They're steamed and rolled into thin pieces for fast cooking.

There's nothing but the grain in this product—that means no animal elements. So yes, vegans can absolutely eat rolled oats.


Steel-Cut Oats

It's Vegan - A deeper dive into the cereal aisle might reveal products that seem a bit more exotic, such as McCann's popular Steel Cut Irish Oatmeal. They're all vegan safe.

Steel-cut oats and rolled oats come from the same cereal grain plant. They're just processed differently. In the case of steel-cut oats, the oats are left intact (in their original oat groat form) and chopped rather than rolled.

Oat groats are considered heartier than rolled oats in part due to their chewier, denser texture. In oatmeal, steel-cut oats hold more of a defined shape.

This video explains more about the different types of oat products...


Instant Oatmeal

It's Sometimes Vegan - Instant oatmeal is what you would call a packet or cup of dry oatmeal that has been prepared with fruits, nuts, spices and other ingredients and just requires hot water (or vegan milk). 

There are also plain instant oats, which are like rolled oats, only sliced thinner so that the cooking time is cut down even more.

What you'll need to watch out for are the instant oats combined with other ingredients. They could contain milk, butter, honey and other unvegan things.

We also want to touch on added vitamins in instant oatmeals from tons of different brands. Sometimes these vitamins can potentially come from animal sources. For example, vitamin A may or may not be derived from egg yolks and fish liver. However, many times, added vitamins are synthetically produced.

For the sake of keeping things simple and not getting too repetitive, we're going to mark products that look vegan as vegan with a note that they contain these vitamins (when they arise) so that you're fully informed.

But the last thing we want is for new vegans to get hung up on complicated matters like these. Just avoid all blatantly labeled animal products and you're good.


Quaker Oatmeal

It's Sometimes Vegan - Quaker oatmeal is usually vegan, but there are some exceptions. Like other instant oatmeals, some of this brand's flavors have animal products in them. 

There is Vitamin A palmitate listed in Instant Oatmeal Cups. But most of the regular boxes of instant oatmeal don't seem to have it.

Wading through the ingredient lists of all the flavors of Quaker Instant Oatmeal can be a process, so we're going to help you out with that.

Let's take a look...


Quaker Cinnamon & Spice Instant Oatmeal

It's Vegan: Quaker Cinnamon & Spice Instant Oatmeal has these ingredients, according to the company website:

Ingredients: Whole Grain Oats, Sugar, Salt, Cinnamon And Other Spices, Natural Flavor.

We don't see any animal ingredients or byproducts, so Cinnamon & Spice gets the vegan stamp of approval.


Quaker Maple & Brown Sugar Instant Oatmeal

It's Vegan: Here's another vegan instant oatmeal flavor per the Quaker Oats home site.

Ingredients: Whole Grain Oats, Sugar, Salt, Natural Flavor.

Again, nothing but plant-based ingredients here. Maple & Brown Sugar Instant Oatmeal (in the box) is vegan.


Quaker Apples & Cinnamon Instant Oatmeal

It's Vegan: We found no animal products in this one, either.

Ingredients: Whole Grain Oats, Sugar, Dried Apples, Natural Flavor, Cinnamon, Salt.

As you can see, Apples & Cinnamon looks a lot like Cinnamon & Spice, but with dried apples. So it's vegan!


Quaker Strawberries and Cream Instant Oatmeal

Not Vegan - Now we're going to see a non-vegan Quaker Instant Oatmeal. The word "cream" in the title "Strawberries and Cream" (**which contains vitamin A palmitate) is a dead giveaway.

Ingredients: Whole Grain Rolled Oats, Sugar, Creaming Agent (Maltodextrin, Sunflower And Palm Oils, Whey, Sodium Caseinate), Flavored And Colored Fruit Pieces (Dehydrated Apples [Treated With Sodium Sulfite To Promote Color Retention], Artificial Strawberry Flavor, Citric Acid, Red 40), Salt, Guar Gum, Artificial Flavor, Citric Acid, Niacinamide*, Vitamin A Palmitate, Reduced Iron, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride*, Riboflavin*, Thiamin Mononitrate*, Folic Acid*.

Whey and sodium caseinate are milk products. Therefore, this flavor is definitely not vegan. The same goes for any of the Quaker fruit and cream instant oatmeals, including Peaches & Cream and Blueberries & Cream.

Make your own vegan version of Strawberries and Cream with plant milk and real strawberries. It'll be even better since it's fresh.

Let's find out about the vegan status of more Quaker oatmeal products...


Quaker Oatmeal Squares

Mostly Vegan -  We couldn't find any reason to call most of the Quaker Oatmeal Squares (**with added vitamins) unvegan.

Here are the ingredients listed for the Brown Sugar flavor: 

Ingredients: Whole Grain Oat Flour, Whole Wheat Flour, Brown Sugar, Sugar, Maltodextrin, Malted Barley Extract, Molasses, Salt, Calcium Carbonate, Sodium Bicarbonate, Natural Flavor, Sodium Ascorbate, Reduced Iron, Alpha Tocopherol Acetate, Bht (Preservative), Niacinamide (Vitamin B3), Yellow 5, Zinc Oxide, Yellow 6, Thiamin Mononitrate (Vitamin B1), Folic Acid, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6), Vitamin A Palmitate, Riboflavin (Vitamin B2).

The one flavor we wouldn't call vegan is Honey Nut (because of the honey). So just be sure you're picking up the regular one.


Quaker Old Fashioned Oats

It's Vegan - For sure, Quaker Old Fashioned Oats make a popular breakfast choice that's totally vegan. These are just the regular rolled oats you can cook up or bake with.

Any plain, simple oats are safe for vegans. Again, it's just the added ingredients in prepared and instant oatmeals that can become problematic, as you're seeing now.


Quaker Dinosaur Eggs Instant Oatmeal

Not Vegan - There are unmistakably animal-derived ingredients in Quaker Dinosaur Eggs Instant Oatmeal.

Ingredients: Whole Grain Oats, Dinosaur Egg Shaped Pieces (Sugar, Dextrose, Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil, Palm Kernel Oil, Palm Oil, Annatto [Color], Carnauba Wax, Confectioner's Glaze, Maltodextrin, Magnesium Stearate, Modified Cornstarch, Natural Flavor, Red Radish Juice [Color], Spirulinaextract [Color], Sunflower Lecithin, Turmeric [Color]), Sugar, Salt, Natural Flavor, Calcium Carbonate, Molasses, Carobpowder, Reduced Iron, Niacinamide*, Folic Acid*, Cholecalciferol (Vitamin D3), Pyridoxine Hydrochloride*, Riboflavin*, Thiamin Mononitrate*. *One Of The B Vitamins.

The vitamin D3 type called cholecalciferol frequently comes from sheep wool lanolin, making it unsuitable for vegans. We usually would say not to worry about such small trace ingredients (since you can't be 100% sure of their origins), but there are other culprits...

As for the confectioner's glaze, if you haven't heard of it, you might be grossed when you hear what it is. It comes from lac insects, so it's definitely not something you want to ingest if you're vegan (even omnivores might take a hard pass).


Quaker High Fiber Instant Oatmeal

Sometimes vegan depending on flavors  - Quaker High Fiber Instant Oatmeal comes in Cinnamon Swirl and Maple & Brown Sugar. As of this writing, these flavors are vegan.

Let's look closer at Cinnamon Swirl...

Ingredients: Whole Grain Oats, Maltodextrin, Sugar, Salt, Cinnamon, Natural Flavor, Monk Fruit Extract.

These ingredients are all vegan, as are the ingredients in High Fiber Maple & Brown Sugar. So why did we say the High Fiber oatmeals have only some vegan flavors? 

Well, it's actually the Fiber & Protein varieties that aren't vegan. It's confusing because you see "fiber" in both titles, but they're different, as you're about to see.

This is the ingredient list for Fiber & Protein Maple & Brown Sugar Instant Oatmeal...

Ingredients: Whole Grain Oats, Maltodextrin, Whey Protein Isolate, Salt, Natural Flavor, Purified Stevia Leaf Extract, Soy Lecithin.

The whey protein isolate is what Quaker is adding to call this oatmeal protein-rich. Of course, whey makes it unvegan.

Confused? We don't blame you. Quaker Oats has a lot of products with the same flavor titles slapped onto different formulas, which is a bummer because it makes it more difficult to remember which items are vegan.

Just remember that you'll need to be extra vigilant when it comes to buying this brand's products.

Read all the labels and keep an extra eye out for whey and milk products.


Nature's Path Oatmeal

Mostly Vegan - The vast majority of Nature's Path oatmeal flavors are vegan. If you want to take a quick peek at what they are, Nature's Path has created a list for many of them, plus other vegan goods from its facilities. 

Because we like to be thorough, we'll examine a few popular flavors, both vegan and non-vegan.


 Nature's Path Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

It's Vegan - The quintessential Apple Cinnamon flavor is vegan at Nature's Path.

Here are the ingredients:

Ingredients: Whole Grain Rolled Oats*, Cane Sugar*, Dried Apple*, Cinnamon*, Sea Salt, Natural Apple Avor*. *Organic. 


 Nature's Path Chocolate Cinnamon Pecan Oatmeal

It's Vegan - It's awesome to find a chocolate flavor that's vegan! As you can see, even the dark chocolate chunks do NOT have any milk products in them. An awesome pick for chocolate lovers.

Ingredients: Whole Grain Rolled Oats*, Brown Sugar*, Pecans*, Fair Trade Dark Chocolate Chunks* (Cane Sugar*, Unsweetened Chocolate*, Cocoa Butter*, Vanilla*), Chia Seeds*, Oat Fiber*, Cinnamon*, Fair Trade Cocoa Powder*, Sea Salt, Vanilla Flavor*. *Organic. Contains Pecans. Produced In A Facility That Uses Milk, Soy, Wheat And Other Tree Nuts.


Trader Joe's Oatmeal

It's vegan - Any plain rolled oats from Trader Joe's are fine, as are many of the instant oatmeals. All of the flavors we found currently available at Trader Joe's were ostensibly vegan (**many contain added vitamins).

These were:

  • Apples & Cinnamon
  • Pecan Pumpkin
  • Cinnamon Spice
  • Maple & Brown Sugar 

 Trader Joe's Apples & Cinnamon Instant Oatmeal

It's Vegan - Examining the ingredients of Apples & Cinnamon, we find no animal products listed:

Ingredients: Whole Grain Rolled Oats (With Oat Bran), Sugar, Dehydrated Apples (Treated With Ascorbic Acid, Citric Acid and Calcium Chloride To Preserve Color), Cinnamon, Salt, Calcium Carbonate, Natural Flavors, Citric Acid, Guar Gum, Ferric Orthophosphate, (Source Of Iron), Niacinimide, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, (B6) Riboflavin, Vitamin A Palmitate, Thiamin Mononitrate, Folic Acid.


 Trader Joe's Pecan Pumpkin Instant Oatmeal

It's Vegan - The same thing goes for Pecan Pumpkin—no animal-derived ingredients:

Ingredients: Whole Grain Rolled Oats, Evaporated Cane Syrup (Sugar), Pecans, Oat Flour, Dried Pumpkin (Pumpkin, Maltodextrin, Corn Flour, Soy Lecithin), Sea Salt, Natural Flavor, Caramel Color, Spices.

So the instant oatmeals look good. 


Trader Joe's Oatmeal Cups

It's vegan - The ingredients of the oatmeal cups are free of animal products. Trader Joe's is clearly not adding dairy to it, so we'd say it's perfectly fine....

Ingredients: Rolled Oats, Dried Cherries (Cherries, Cane Sugar, Sunflower Oil), Pumpkin Seeds, Chia Seeds, Sea Salt.

There's a disclaimer about dairy traces on the company website:

"BOTH OATMEAL CUPS MAY CONTAIN TRACES OF MILK, SOY, WHEAT, ALMOND, CASHEW, COCONUT, PECAN, WALNUT, PISTACHIO."

As there are no actual dairy products in these cups, it's likely just an allergen warning. So unless you're actually allergic to those ingredients feel free to enjoy their vegan-status.


McDonald's Oatmeal

Not vegan - This one is a no-go. You'll have to avoid McDonald's oatmeal. Here are the ingredients in McDonald's Fruit and Maple Oatmeal:

Ingredients: Water, Whole Grain Rolled Oats, Brown Sugar, Modified Food Starch, Salt, Natural Flavor, Barley Malt Extract, Caramel Color, Apples, Calcium Ascorbate (A Blend Of Calcium And Vitamin C To Maintain Color), Sweetened Dried Cranberries (Sugar, Cranberries), California Raisins, Golden Raisins, Sunflower Oil, Sulfur Dioxide As A Preservative (Contains Sulfites), MilkCream, Sodium Phosphate, Datem, Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate, Sodium Citrate, Carrageenan.

As you can see, there are milk products present so keep on driving to the next fast food joint!


Starbucks Oatmeal

It's Vegan - It seems that Starbucks Oatmeal is vegan-friendly—at least the Classic and Hearty Blueberry varieties are.

Let's learn a bit more about each flavor...


Starbucks Classic Oatmeal

It's vegan - As you might have guessed, the Classic oatmeal from Starbucks does not have any animal products. Here are the ingredients in the Classic...

Ingredients: Oatmeal (Water, Whole Grain Oatmeal [Whole Grain Rolled Oats, Whole Grain Steel-Cut Oats, Whole Grain Oat Flour, Salt, Calcium Carbonate, Guar Gum]).

No animal products there.


Starbucks Hearty Blueberry Oatmeal

And for the Hearty Blueberry, this flavor is also totally vegan. No animal products to be found

Ingredients: Hearty Blueberry Oatmeal (Water, Whole Grain Oatmeal [Whole Grain Rolled Oats, Whole Grain Steel-Cut Oats, Whole Grain Oat Flour, Salt, Calcium Carbonate, Guar Gum], Fruit, Nut And Seed Medley [Dried Figs (Figs, Rice Flour), Pepitas, Dried Cranberries (Cranberries, Sugar, Sunflower Oil), Almonds], Fresh Blueberries, Organic Agave Nectar Syrup).

Looks good to us!


Cracker Barrel Oatmeal

It's vegan with modifications - Here's how Cracker Barrel describes the Apple N' Cinnamon Oatmeal on its menu:

"Hearty steel-cut oats simmered ‘til creamy with dried cranberries, apples, golden raisins, cinnamon and vanilla, and topped with roasted Fuji apples, dried cranberries and pecans. Served with reduced fat milk."

If these are all the ingredients, it seems that all you need to do is ask them to leave the reduced fat milk in the kitchen and you'll have a reliable vegan breakfast option at Cracker Barrel.


ThinkThin Oatmeal

Some vegan options - ThinkThin has a part of their website which helpfully lists out all of their vegan products. These are the ones that don't have animal products...

  • Apple Spice (Bowl)
  • Banana Bread (Bowl)
  • Cinnamon Almond (Bowl)
  • Madagascar Vanilla with Almonds and Pecans (Bowl)
  • Madagascar Vanilla with Almonds and Pecans (Box)
  • Maple Pecan (Bowl)
  • Original Sprouted Grains (Box)

Let's dive a bit deeper into some ThinkThin oatmeals...


ThinkThin Madagascar Vanilla with Almonds and Pecans Bowl

It's vegan - Here's what's in the Madagascar Vanilla with Almonds and Pecans Bowl...

Ingredients: Whole Grain Blend (Rolled Oats, Steel Cut Oats, Red Quinoa), Dried Cane Syrup, Isolated Soy Protein, Chicory Root Fiber, Natural Flavors, Almonds, Pecans, Sea Salt, Ground Vanilla Beans.

We'd definitely call this vegan.


ThinkThin Banana Bread Bowl

It's vegan - Another 100 percent vegan flavor to enjoy (who doesn't love banana bread?).  Let's peek inside the Banana Bread Bowl ingredients...

Ingredients: Whole Grain Blend (Rolled Oats, Steel Cut Oats, Red Quinoa), Soy Protein Isolate, Cane Sugar, Dried Bananas, Chicory Root Fiber, Pecans, Natural Flavors, Sea Salt.

Now let's find out about the non-vegan oatmeals from ThinkThin.


ThinkThin Blueberry Harvest Bowl

The Blueberry Harvest Bowl is not vegan because it's made with the following dairy ingredients...

Ingredients: Whole Grain Blend (Rolled Oats, Steel Cut Oats, Red Quinoa), Cane Sugar, Soy Protein Isolate, Chicory Root Fiber, Dried Blueberries, Natural Flavor (Contains Milk), Ascorbic Acid (Promotes Color Retention), Chia Seeds, Sea Salt, Probiotic Cultures (Bacillus Coagulans GBI-30 6086).

Since the flavoring has milk in it, the Blueberry Harvest Bowl is definitely not vegan. But it's not just milk-containing flavorings that make some of the ThinkThin oatmeal flavors incompatible with the vegan lifestyle...


ThinkThin Honey Peanut Butter Bowl

Not Vegan - you can tell by the name. Take a look at the Honey Peanut Butter Bowl ingredients...

Ingredients: Whole Grain Blend (Rolled Oats, Steel Cut Oats, Red Quinoa), Isolated Soy Protein, Dried Cane Syrup, Peanut Drops (Sugar, Palm Kernel Oil, Peanut Flour, Nonfat Dry Milk Powder, Salt, Soy Lecithin), Peanuts, Chicory Root Fiber, Honey Powder (Maltodextrin, Honey), Peanut Flour, Sea Salt.

Right away, you can tell that this one is not considered vegan across the board from the honey, but it also has milk powder in it.

Conclusion: Not all the ThinThin oatmeals are obviously vegan or unvegan, so you'll need to read the labels on each variety to confirm the status. 


Bob's Red Mill Oatmeal

All vegan - All of the oatmeal cup flavors listed on the Bob's Red Mill website at this time have vegan ingredient lists! These flavors are:

  • Organic Pineapple Coconut
  • Organic Fruit and Seed
  • Organic Cranberry Orange
  • Organic Classic
  • Gluten Free Classic
  • Gluten Free Blueberry Hazelnut
  • Gluten Free Brown Sugar and Maple
  • Gluten Free Apple Cinnamon

Let's have a look at some examples...


Bob's Red Mill Organic Pineapple Coconut

This one is totally vegan. Here's the ingredient list for Organic Pineapple Coconut:

Ingredients: Organic Whole Grain Oats, Organic Cane Sugar, Organic Pineapple, Organic Coconut, Organic Flaxseeds, Organic Chia Seeds, Salt.


Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free Blueberry Hazelnut

This one is vegan too, of course. The Gluten Free Blueberry Hazelnut ingredients up close:

Ingredients: Gluten Free Whole Grain Oats, Cane Sugar, Hazelnuts, Dried Blueberries, Chia Seed, Flaxseed, Blueberry Powder, Sea Salt.

Feel free to indulge in any of these Bob's Red Mill oatmeal flavors!


Essential Everyday Oatmeal

Some vegan options  - Like many other brands, Essential Everyday offers some vegan oatmeal options, but some of the flavors contain dairy.

We couldn't locate ingredients directly from the company's website, but we found ingredients the ingredients on Fooducate.


Essential Everyday Apples & Cinnamon

It's vegan - Here are the ingredients in Apples & Cinnamon. Nothing to be afraid of here...

Ingredients: Whole Grain Rolled Oats, Sugar, Dehydrated Apples (Treated With Sodium Sulfite To Promote Color, Retention), Cinnamon, Salt, Calcium Carbonate, Natural Flavors, Oat Flour, Citric Acid, Guar Gum, Ferric Phosphate, Niacinamide*, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride*, Riboflavin*, Vitamin A Palmitate, Thiamin Mononitrate*, Folic Acid*. *One Of The B Vitamins.


Essential Everyday Strawberries & Cream

It's NOT vegan - Strawberries & Cream, on the other hand, has dairy in it:

Ingredients: Whole Grain Rolled Oats, Sugar, Flavored Fruit Pieces (Dehydrated Apples [Treated With Sodium Sulfite], Artificial Strawberry Flavor, Citric Acid, Red 40), Creaming Agent (Corn Syrup Solids, Partially Hydrogenated Soybean Oil, WheySodium Caseinate, Titanium Dioxide), Calcium Carbonate, Salt, Guar Gum, Oat Flour, Artificial Flavor, Ferric Phosphate, Niacinamide, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Riboflavin, Vitamin A Palmitate, Thiamin Mononitrate, Folic Acid.

As whey and sodium caseinate come from milk, Strawberries & Cream is off the vegan list. At least this one is easy to spot with the word "cream" in the title. 


Gerber Oatmeal

Mostly vegan - The vast majority of Gerber oatmeals are made without dairy and animal products (they are fortified with added vitamins, but we've already stressed that you shouldn't worry about such things because it goes too far beyond the definition of veganism*).

There was only one flavor we could find that was without a doubt not vegan...


Gerber Bananas & Cream Cereal

Nope not vegan - There's plenty to be avoiding in the Bananas & Cream Cereal...

Ingredients: Whole Grain Oats (Contains Wheat) And Pearled Barley Cooked In Water, Dry Yogurt (Cultured Nonfat Milk, Nonfat Milk, Heat Treated After Culturing), Sugar, Banana Puree, Modified Corn Starch, Natural Flavor, Lactic Acid, Enzyme Modified Soy Lecithin, Salt, Lemon Juice Concentrate, Calcium Phosphate, Cultured Cream.

Vitamins And Minerals: Iron (Ferrous Sulfate), Zinc Sulfate, Vitamin E (Alpha Tocopherol Acetate), Niacinamide, Vitamin B6 (Pyridoxine Hydrochloride), Vitamin B2 (Ribflavin), Vitamin B1 (Thiamine Mononitrate), Folic Acid, Vitamin B12 (Cyanocobalamin).

Contains: Wheat, Milk, Soy.

You may have noticed the trend by now. Fruit and cream oatmeals probably always contain dairy unless they're marked as vegan on the label. 


Gerber Peach Cereal

But luckily this one looks vegan! Here are the ingredients in the Peach Cereal...

Ingredients: Whole Grain Oats (Contains Wheat) And Pearled Barley Cooked In Water, Peaches And Peach Puree, Sugar, Modified Corn Starch, Vanilla Extract, Natural Flavor, Salt, Enzyme Modified Soy Lecithin, Lactic Acid, Cinnamon, Lemon Juice Concentrate, Calcium Phosphate.

Vitamins And Minerals: Iron (Ferrous Sulfate), Zinc Sulfate, Vitamin E (Alpha Tocopherol Acetate), Niacinamide, Vitamin B6 (Pyridoxine Hydrochloride), Vitamin B2 (Riboflavin), Vitamin B1 (Thiamine Mononitrate), Folic Acid, Vitamin B12 (Cyanocobalamin).

Contains: Wheat, Soy.

If you paused on lactic acid, don't worry. It's not the same as lactose, which is associated with milk. Rather, lactic acid comes from a fermentation process of products like beet sugar and cornstarch.

That means Gerber's Peach Cereal is lactose-free and vegan.


Jamba Juice Oatmeal

Good news - it's vegan! You can get a stick-to-your-ribs vegan breakfast at Jamba Juice to go with your smoothie. The Steel-Cut Oatmeal is made with soy milk rather than dairy milk:

Ingredients: Organic Steel-Cut Oats, Soy milk.

There's only one caveat. You have to opt for vegan toppings, which means things like fruit and shredded coconut and no honey or dairy-based fixings. We're not sure what's in the brown sugar crumble topping, so ask if there's butter in it first. 

In fact, ask if there's dairy in any topping that looks like it's been cooked or prepared in any way other than sliced fresh (like fruit).

Other than that, the basic Jamba Juice oatmeal is totally, absolutely vegan.


Au Bon Pain Oatmeal

Au Bon Pain's Classic Oatmeal is also vegan and super simple in its ingredients...

Ingredients: Water, 100% Natural Rolled Oats.

Ask for any vegan toppings and sweeteners available to make it delicious.

So there you have it. 

But we've got one more pertinent oatmeal question to answer...


Can You Eat Oatmeal on a Raw Vegan Diet? 

It all depends on the specific diet guidelines you follow, but yes, raw vegans can eat oatmeal.

Of course, raw vegans will want to avoid flavored and prepared oatmeals, but they may also choose to avoid rolled oats as they're steamed (so not really raw).

Oat groats and steel-cut oats can be raw. You can soak these (or rolled oats) overnight in a bowl of water and they'll be "cooked" perfectly in the morning.


Wrap Up

Oats are 100 percent acceptable for vegan diets as long as you're wary of any added ingredients that might contain dairy and other animal products. This eliminates many (if not all) of the "Fruit and Cream" flavored oat products. 

Most brands that carry oatmeal have at least some vegan options, and even big chains like Starbucks, Cracker Barrel and Jamba Juice can offer vegans this standard breakfast item as long as no milk, honey, butter or other dairy products are poured on top.

Even though there are many other premixed oats out there, it's understandable if you're still craving the non-vegan packets. Luckily, there are plenty of easy ways to make oatmeal taste delicious without dairy.

Leave a Comment