Thanksgiving is coming up and we all love cranberry sauce. But is cranberry sauce vegan?
We'll give you the vegan lowdown below...
Is Cranberry Sauce Vegan?
If you're feasting in an omnivorous home for the holidays, you don't need to worry about the cranberry sauce. It's vegan.
Cranberry sauce is a fruit compote that derives its flavor from fruit and sugar. If it's homemade, it might have a little clove or similar spice - but no animal products.
Let's check the ingredients of a store-bought cranberry sauce for the details.
The contents of Gefen Jellied Cranberry Sauce are as follows (linked above):
Ingredients: Cranberries, Water and Sugar.
These ingredients comprise the basic makeup of canned cranberry sauce, and they're all vegan.
Some canned cranberry sauces, like the ones Ocean Spray makes, contain high fructose corn syrup (which is also vegan). If you're following a whole food vegan diet, stick with the cranberry sauces made with real sugar or any natural sweetener.
One of the most common types of cranberry sauce you'll come across is jellied cranberry sauce. Like any other fruit jelly, this kind of cranberry sauce is smooth because the fruit is strained out or blended up in the cooking process. These cranberry sauces might include fruit pectin (also vegan) to solidify them.
There's also whole berry cranberry sauce, which hasn't been strained or blended. The result is a chunky, chutney-like sauce.
If you're making your own or eating out, the cranberry sauce on the menu will likely be the whole berry sort.
But whether you're shopping for cranberry sauce, whipping up a batch or eyeing a bowl at Friendsgiving dinner, rest assured: it's vegan.
More Vegan Condiments
Cranberry sauce is one of a whole host of widely available vegan condiments.
See our full list of essential vegan condiments here.
Want to know more about a sustainable plant-based lifestyle? Here's ThriveCuisine's printable grocery list you can take with you on your next shop.
You might also be interest in...
Want to take all of the guess-work around going vegan?
Click here to check out the Vegan Starter Kit.