is fondant vegan

Is Fondant Vegan?

At Thrive Cuisine, we work hard to make you the best recommendations on food & appliances in the kitchen. One of the ways we support ourselves is by getting a small commission on some purchases made through our links at no cost to our readers.

ANSWER: Yes! Based on our research, the top fondant brands are 100% vegan. There are certain ingredients in fondant such as sugar, gelatin, and glycerin that can either be animal derived or filtered with bone char in the case of sugar. Luckily there are plenty of fondant options from manufacturer's who specifically opt for 100% vegan ingredients.

What is Fondant Exactly?

Fondant is a form of thick icing which is used to decorate cakes and other types of sweets and baked goods. It varies in consistencies from stiff and clay-like to a viscous, pourable liquid.

Fondant is most popularly used for wedding cake decoration, but is also used in other confections such as cakes and candies.

What Kind of Fondant Might Not Be Vegan?

The top brands of fondant on the market, Wilton and Satin Ice, are both 100% Vegan. Wilton's website can be a bit confusing to navigate, but Olivia from Vegan Chow Down e-mailed the company personally which you can read about here. Satin Ice specifically states in their FAQ that they use all vegan ingredients - great news for cake decorators!

It is important to know that some fondants may be made with gelatin, an ingredient made from prolonged boiling of skin, cartilage, and bones from animals. Be wary of this when you're reading fondant ingredient statements. Also, please note that not all products from Satin Ice or Wilson are vegan even though the fondants are.

What Vegan Brands of Fondant Do you Recommend?

As we said earlier, Satin Ice is a good brand to go with. You can learn more about their products below.

In case you've got a sweet tooth for other candys, you'll be pleased to know that you can still enjoy vegan taffy, vegan marshmallows, most brands of sprinkles and plenty of vegan chocolates!

Conclusion on Fondant

While fondant may not inherently be vegan, the two main brands of fondant, Satin Ice and Wilton, are free of any animal ingredients. This should make finding vegan fondant an easy task. However, be on the lookout for other brands of fondant which may contain gelatin or other ingredients made from animal by-products.

About the Author Joey Bruno

Cooking healthy, delicious, plant-based meals has been Joey’s true passion since he went vegan in 2015. He has a masters in Nutrition and Food Science and is committed to making the internet a place of education and knowledge rather than misinformation and clickbait. He currently lives in Delaware with his wife.

Leave a Comment: