Are marshmallows vegan? Do they contain bones, hooves, skin or other animal products? We’ll answer all your questions and see if we can find some vegan brands of marshmallows below…
Let's hop to it...
Are Marshmallows Vegan?
No, Marshmallows are not vegan.
The main reason for this is because they contain gelatin.
Gelatin is a gel substance created from skins, hooves, tendons, ligaments of animals which would place it in the non-vegan category. They wouldn't even be considered vegetarian!
Although rarer today, some marshmallows may even have eggs – another non-vegan ingredient!
Is There Vegan Gelatin?
In case you’re wondering, there actually is a vegan version of gelatin called agar-agar. You can learn more about it in our article on vegan jello.
Can You Get Vegan Marshmallows?
Absolutely. There are several brands of vegan marshmallows that exist and they’re becoming more and more readily available.
Bag of Dandies Vegan Marshmallows from Walmart
For your convenience, we’ve gone through every brand of marshmallow we could find and reveal their vegan status below…
Which Brands of Marshmallows Are Vegan?
Here’s the breakdown of vegan and vegetarian marshmallows…
- Dandies – VEGAN. Dandies are a fully vegan marshmallow brand. No animal products to be found! You can buy them here on Amazon if you have a craving.
- Trader Joe’s – VEGAN. Trader Joe’s has their own vegan marshmallows, too! But be careful, they may also carry regular marshmallows too.**
- Haribo – NOT VEGAN. This brand of marshmallows contains gelatin or gelatine.
- Campfire – NOT VEGAN. Another standard brand of marshmallows that contains gelatin.
- Kraft – NOT VEGAN. The Kraft Jet Puffed marshmallows have gelatin in them much like all of the standard brands on the market.
- Ananda – VEGAN. This brand makes all sorts of interesting vegan/vegetarian marshmallows, but they’re located in the UK.
- Suzanne’s Specialties – VEGAN. But they specialize in marshmallow creme, similar to the “fluff” that you would spread on a peanut butter sandwich. It’s available here to check out.
- Freedom Confectionery – VEGAN. They’re a smaller brand that makes colored vegan mallows. No gelatin, eggs, soy artificial colors or flavors. Really an excellent choice. You can find them here.
- Smucker’s Marshmallow Topping – VEGAN. In the ice cream or peanut butter section, you’ll be able to find this this product by Smucker’s that’s a vegan marshmallow topping. Not quite a mallow, but still good for the flavor.
- Ziyad Halal Marshmallows – NOT VEGAN. They have beef gelatin instead of pork. Vegans should stay away from these!
**You can read more about the Trader Joe's Marshmallows here...
What Are Vegan Marshmallows Made Of?
Here are the ingredients in one brand of vegan marshmallows (Dandies)...
- Tapioca Syrup
- Cane Sugar
- Filtered Water
- Tapioca Starch
- Soy Protein
- Natural Vanilla Flavor
The Trader Joe’s vegan marshmallows have a nearly identical ingredient statement. We would suspect that Trader Joe’s is getting their product from Dandies as a private label agreement.
Needless to say, these are the ingredients you’ll find in most brands of vegan marshmallows.
Other less popular brands may have coconut or other special flavor.
Are Vegan Marshmallows Good?
Vegan marshmallows aren’t only good – they’re delicious. They have a very nice and mild vanilla flavor. Most people won’t notice a major texture difference either.
In this video review, you’ll see words like “fluffy” and “yummy” being thrown around freely, so you know they’re good.
Do Vegan Marshmallows Melt?
Vegan marshmallows do melt, but they may not become as “oozing” as the regular kind. However, they’re still delicious on a s’more or eaten just the way they are.
Check out the video below to see what we’re talking about. Do note that this reviewer used a candle, which probably isn’t the best or safest method for melting vegan marshmallows.
In this other melting video, the taste tester used a blow torch which did a much better job of melting the marshmallows, but it still didn’t get as melted as a regular marshmallow would.
Still delicious, but that’s the truth!
What Are the Main Ingredients in Marshmallows?
The main ingredients in regular marshmallows (non-vegan) are usually just sugar and cornstarch. You’ll find that the other ingredients like colors, flavors and gelatin make up less than 2% of the ingredient, but that doesn’t mean that they’re cruelty-free and vegan!
Here’s an ingredient statement from Jet Puffed Kraft Marshmallows as an example…
INGREDIENTS: CORN SYRUP, SUGAR, MODIFIED CORNSTARCH, DEXTROSE, WATER, CONTAINS LESS THAN 2% OF GELATIN, TETRASODIUM PYROPHOSPHATE (WHIPPING AID), NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR, BLUE 1.
Do Marshmallows Have Meat?
Technically speaking, they don’t have “meat”, but regular marshmallows still have animal products in the form of gelatin which as we already mentioned is made from bones, skin and cartilage of animals.
Are Marshmallows Egg Free?
Most commercial marshmallows today do not contain eggs. This goes for the vegan and non-vegan variety.
Do Marshmallows Have Dairy?
Marshmallows do not usually have dairy products in them. This is true for both vegan and regular marshmallows.
Do Marshmallows Have Soy?
The two main vegan marshmallows we’ve listed here (Trader Joe’s and Dandies) both have soy protein in them. However, we haven’t seen soy in any normal marshmallow ingredients. This means if you’re a vegan with a soy allergy you unfortunately won’t be able to enjoy them.
Are Marshmallows Made of Bones?
Since gelatin is made of bones, this means that marshmallows also have bones in them! The bones aren’t stuffed directly in the marshmallows, though. They’re boiled along with other animal parts to reduce down to a powder known as gelatin.
Are Vegan Marshmallows Halal?
Since there's no pork from gelatin, vegan marshmallows are classified as Halal. Fantastic news if you are craving a s'more.
We’ve learned a lot about marshmallows today! It’s not all good news, but if get out there and give Dandies or the Trader Joe’s brand a try.
Here’s to a vegan campfire!
For more vegan tips, be sure to check out our shopping list.
Pin this image below...