In this article, we're covering everything you should know about tahini sauce. We'll tell you all about the taste and texture as well as some other interesting tidbits you may not have known.
Let's take a look...
What Does Tahini Sauce Taste Like?
As tahini is a primary ingredient in tahini sauce, it'll taste a lot like the sesame seed paste, earthy and slightly bitter. But as tahini sauce is usually mixed with ingredients like lemon juice and fresh herbs, including cilantro and parsley, it's also tart, herbal and refreshing.
You should know that some tahini sauces aren't vegan. If you see yogurt, sour cream or any other dairy products in it, it's not suitable for the plant-based diet. Tahini sauces in restaurants sometimes have dairy in them, so check first to be on the safe side.
Tahini Sauce Texture
Most tahini sauces are thick and creamy like pureed avocado. Some are runnier, especially if they contain a fair amount of water, but even liquidy tahini sauces are rich.
If there are lots of fresh herbs and garlic pieces in it, tahini sauce may have a slightly "chunky" texture, especially if these ingredients are not minced.
What’s in Tahini Sauce?
We know that non-vegan tahini sauces may contain yogurt or sour cream, but since we wouldn't eat those anyway, we'll focus on the vegan versions of tahini sauce.
Vegan tahini sauce usually has sesame seed paste (also simply called tahini), garlic, salt, lemon juice and olive oil. Spices and herbs like cumin and parsley may be included or omitted.
How Do You Make Spicy Tahini Sauce?
Spicing up your tahini sauce can involve adding a number of hot ingredients. Some minced jalapeno or chili flakes will add heat but not much extra flavor.
A little vegan chili paste can add spice as well as other flavors from added ingredients. Sriracha can contribute extra tang and garlic flavor while a chili paste made with sugar will add sweetness.
Tahini Sauce Serving Tips
If you haven't made your own tahini sauce, you'll be impressed with what you can do with sesame seed paste and a few simple ingredients from the kitchen cabinet. Then, make your own falafel. Boxed falafel mixes are fine, but there's nothing like the homemade stuff with fresh tahini sauce.
Here's an example of a basic vegan tahini sauce you'll want to pour over everything. Here are the ingredients:
- Sea salt
- Black pepper
- Olive oil
This video will show you how to make vegan falafel to top with your homemade tahini sauce and serve in a pita for lunch. Here's everything you need:
- Red pepper flakes
- Baking powder
- Frying oil
Tahini sauce is earthy, nutty and a little tart. Not every tahini sauce will be vegan, so make sure you check the premade sauces first. But why not make your own tahini sauce? It's fast, easy and delicious. Try it on falafel, salads and baked potatoes for starters.