All posts by Joey Bruno

science behind soy

The Truth About Soy – What Does the Science Actually Say?

Soy has quickly gone from a relatively unknown in Western culture to a highly debated and controversial food. Of course, soy has not been embraced by communities who have been advocating against grain and legume consumption for decades. Even people who eat predominately plant-based diets will campaign against this humble legume. The question is: are […]

Continue reading
vegan pancake mix brands

Top 5 Vegan Pancake Mix Brands (A Vegan’s Guide to Pancake Mixes)

Pancake mixes are a super easy way of getting the boring part of making pancakes out of the way, taking you one step closer to a delicious breakfast when you’re groggy in the morning. But are pancake mixes vegan?The truth is that some pancake mixes contain ingredients like dairy and eggs, but there are plenty […]

Continue reading
vegan salad dressing brands

The Best Vegan Salad Dressing Brands and Homemade Recipes! (Including Ranch)

If you’re trying to eat more salads, don’t underestimate the impact that a vegan salad dressing can have on your meals. The main difference between a delicious restaurant salad and the ones you take to work is probably the dressing; it can make or break the entire thing! Page Navigation Vegan Salad Dressing Brands You […]

Continue reading
are animal crackers vegan

Are Animal Crackers Vegan? 4 Brands That Are!

ANSWER: Yes. The purpose of veganism is to cause the least amount of suffering as possible or practicable with your food choices. Animal crackers aren’t real animals of course, nor do the original ones by Stauffer’s contain any direct animal ingredients such as milk or eggs. However, there are a few things to be aware […]

Continue reading
is laffy taffy vegan

Is Laffy Taffy Vegan?

ANSWER:  Like many sugar-based candies, the small version of Laffy Taffy doesn’t contain any blatantly labeled animal products which means that it would be considered Vegan. The big version of Laffy Taffy does however have eggs, making it not vegan. There are a few ingredients (including sugar) in the small version which could potentially involve animal […]

Continue reading
are sprinkles vegan

Are Sprinkles Vegan? (AKA Jimmies)

ANSWER: Yes, but with a few caveats. We found many different formulations of sprinkles during our research, so ingredient lists per brand may vary. Sprinkles containing “confectioners glaze” have the potential to contain insects, so that is an ingredient to be wary of. There’s more you might want to know about sprinkles and veganism though […]

Continue reading
is worcestershire sauce vegan

Is Worcestershire Sauce Vegan? Also Our Favorite Vegan Worcestershire Sauce Brands!

ANSWER: Worcestershire sauce, in its original form, is not vegan because it contains anchovies or anchovy paste. Worcestershire sauce has a complex flavor profile and lots of different ingredients. The good news is that there are plenty of vegan versions that taste just like the real thing, and it is super easy to make your own if […]

Continue reading
is bisquick vegan

Is Bisquick Vegan?

ANSWER: Some Bisquick products are indeed Vegan, however there are variations of it that definitely aren’t. For example, they have a Buttermilk Pancake and Waffle Mix which contains both milk and eggs placing it in the non-vegan category. Also, given that the instructions may call for eggs or milk, you’ll have to make some easy […]

Continue reading
is sriracha vegan

Is Sriracha Vegan?

ANSWER: Yes! Sriracha sauce is typically going to be vegan. Most chili pastes in any sort of Asian cuisine are a combination of chili peppers, sugar, vinegar and spices. There are a few things you might want to know about Srirachi’s vegan status, though so read on! Quick Navigation What is Sriracha Exactly?What Brands of […]

Continue reading
is pasta vegan - complete guide to vegan pasta

Is Pasta Vegan? The Info You Need on Barilla & Other Brands

As people make the transition to a vegan diet or simply want to consume more vegan foods, it seems like the question about pasta is a big one. Much like ice creams and cheeses, people wonder if transitioning to veganism is going to mean giving something up.If you’ve got these same concerns, don’t worry!We’ve addressed […]

Continue reading