Wondering about the vegan status of wonton soup? Here’s everything you need to know…
Is Wonton Soup Vegan?
Unless it’s listed on a product or menu otherwise, wonton soup is almost NEVER vegan. The traditional wonton soup recipes call for all sorts of animal products including pork, chicken stock, shrimp and potentially some other non-vegan ingredients.
Wonton Soup Ingredients
Just so that you have a better idea of what’s in wonton soup, here’s a list of ingredients that you’ll commonly find. Since there isn’t a universal recipe, this is just a standard example…
- Wonton wrapped stuffed with pork (which may have egg)
- Minced Pork
- Prawns or Shrimp
- Chinese Cooking Wine
- Soy Sauce
- Pork or Chicken Broth
Vegan Wonton Soup Mix
If you’d like to make your own vegan wonton soup at home without the fuss, it is possible to get a premade mix. This one from Dynasty Foods is pretty good and it’s got an all vegan ingredient statement…
Ingredients: Salt, Glucose, Monosodium Glutamate, Vegetable Extract (Onion & Napa Cabbage), Sugar, Onion Powder, Hydrolyzed Protein (Soy, Corn, Wheat), Caramel Color, Spice, Disodium Inosinate, Disodium Guanylate, Disodium Succinate, Kelp Extract, Sesame Oil
Granted, it doesn’t come with the wontons, but it’s a pretty decent replacement, especially if you can find some vegan wonton wrappers to throw in there.
Other Vegan Wonton Soup Options
If you’re a vegan and want to enjoy some wonton soup, you have a few options.
First, you can make it from scratch following a recipe like this one (video below)
More Vegan Soup Options
Did you know that there are plenty of other options for vegan soups that go beyond the wonton?
One other you might like is vegan miso soup. Check out all of these vegan miso soup packets you can buy for cheap!
Don’t forget to check out our other articles on vegan soup also…
- Vegan French Onion Soup Mixes
- Vegan Tomato Soup Brands
- Vegan Campbell’s Soups
- Vegan Progresso Soups
- Vegan Cream of Mushroom Soup Brands