vegan frosting brands

Vegan Frosting Brands Available Online and In Stores

If you're going to make a cake, you're going to want frosting. Cake just isn't the same without it. Most people don't want to make their own frosting. We're short on time, on patience, and we just like the convenience of store-bought frosting.

Luckily, there's no reason to forego it! There are a couple of vegan frosting brands available, and two of the most popular frosting brands just happen to have tons of accidentally vegan options. There's no need to miss out on the fun!

List of Vegan Frosting Brands Available Online

If you're too busy to run to the store or interested in getting some of the specialty vegan frostings, we've compiled them below. The two popular brands (Pillsbury and Duncan Hines) are likely to be found in your grocery store, but Dollop and Fat Daddio likely aren't. We wanted to give a little disclaimer though: if the product isn't specifically advertised as Vegan (such as the Dollop brand), the company could change their ingredient statement at any time to something non-vegan, so we always recommend double checking!

Click any of the links below to check out these products on Amazon.

Dollop

Dollop is a new range of gourmet frosting that is all advertised vegan. It comes in multiple flavors including: Hot ChocolateMadagascar VanillaPeanut Butter Cookie Dough, and Sea Salted Caramel.

If you're familiar with this frosting brand its because it was on Shark Tank! It was presented to the Sharks as a healthier version of frosting and was actually fought over among Kevin and Barbara. Barbara ended up making a deal with the owner, Heather Saffer, and the rest is history!

Hot Chocolate

Pillsbury

You probably know Pillsbury – their frostings are found just about everywhere, and come in as many flavors as you could wish. They’re also very affordable and have a very “dirty” ingredient label – but, if you’re looking for frosting, this probably isn’t high on your priorities list. Believe it or not, almost all of their frostings are vegan! We haven’t found a single one that isn’t, and that’s not from lack of trying. 

Online, you can pick up their Creamy Supreme range in Milk ChocolateLimeCaramelNo products found., and Strawberry. Their Funfetti range comes in Aqua Blue VanillaHot Pink VanillaBold Purple VanillaVanilla, and Stars and Stripes. Their Purely Simple Buttercream mixes come in Chocolate and Buttercream. Finally, their Fluffy range comes in Vanilla MarshmallowChocolate Marshmallow, and Funfetti Vanilla Marshmallow. 

Obviously, all of these ranges have more products that aren’t listed here; these are just the most popular. And yes, even the marshmallow flavors didn’t have any gelatin in them which was quite a surprise.

Milk Chocolate

Duncan Hines

Duncan Hines is another well-known frosting brand and, like Pillsbury, almost all of their products are vegan. Unlike Pillsbury, we could find a few exceptions, like milk chocolate or strawberries and cream. For the most part, however, Duncan Hines offers great accidentally-vegan options.

Again, just be sure when buying these products that you check the ingredients – they can change at any time.

Online, Duncan Hines has a few ranges of frosting. Their Creamy Home-Style range comes in Classic ChocolateClassic VanillaCoconut PecanCream Cheese, and Salted Caramel. The Whipped range comes in Fluffy White and Chocolate

Classic Chocolate

Fat Daddio's

There’s also Fat Daddio’s, which is an advertised vegan fondant – so it’s unlikely to change ingredients. It comes in five bright colors: True Blue VanillaGreen VanillaTurquoise VanillaLight Blue Vanilla, and Light Green Vanilla.

If you're looking for a fondant specifically, we have an entire posts about vegan fondants as well.

True Blue Vanilla

List of the Most Common Store Brands

There are few brands that can be found in stores that are specifically vegan. You can find Dollop at Whole Foods and certain other health food stores. Fat Daddio's has a wider range of colors than available online, and is found throughout specialty baking stores across the country.

For accidentally vegan options, the two best brands are Pillsbury and Duncan Hines - they have even more flavors than are listed above, though as mentioned you'll need to check the ingredients in person each time you buy, because it's likely that they could change. Duncan Hines is found at Vons, Ralph's Target as well as any of the big retailers. Pillsbury is similar and will likely be in any big retail outlet.

Use any of the link above to access the brand's store locator.

What Ingredients to Look Out For in Frosting?

There are a couple of unusual ingredients you should look out for when investigating frostings, although many of them are fairly obvious. ​Milk products, often listed as whey or milk solids, are most common, especially in flavors that you would expect - milk chocolate, cream cheese, etc. But don't automatically discard those flavors as being non-vegan - Pillsbury does a vegan cream cheese frosting, so there's a chance other brands will too.

Egg whites can sometimes make an appearance in more gourmet frostings, used often to add body and richness. Gelatin is less common, but can sometimes also appear, particularly in cheaper products. 

Finally, there's palm oil, which is a debatable item on the topic of veganism. Although it's plant-based - it's derived entirely from the palm plant - palm oil has received criticism in recent years for the way in which it is sourced, which often requires cleaning rainforests.

It's up to you whether you consider that vegan- some do and some don't. However, since this focus could be applied to almost any other product (everything requires some level of harm), we'd advise that you don't worry about it if you're just entering veganism. You're doing much better for the rainforests than most people, even if you are consuming palm oil. In addition, abstaining from additional products beyond those clearly not labeled with animals has the potential to turn off others from making the transition to the vegan lifestyle themselves.

​If you want to learn more about the ethics of trace and single sourced ingredients, check out our posts about skittles and sugar.

Is Frosting Healthy Just Because It's Vegan?

We wanted to address this as many people automatically associated vegan with healthier. The truth is that some processed vegan foods can be just as harmful as animal products and frosting probably falls into one of these categories given the fact that some brands have hydrogenated oil in addition to loads of processed sugar.

That's not to say you can't enjoy some cake once in a while (vegan is an ethical issue - not a health one), but we just wanted to make a quick disclaimer!​

About the Author Michelle B

Hey! I’m Michelle and I write product reviews for ThriveCuisine.com. I’m always preparing healthy / plant based foods and I’ve developed a knack for helping people get the best bang for their buck.

Leave a Comment:

4 comments
Danae says August 18, 2017

Choosing to be vegan is not just ethical it is for health and your comment that it isn’t makes you seem uneducated in nutrition

Reply
    The Thrive Cuisine Team says August 19, 2017

    Hi Danae,

    Thanks for your comment.

    We do actually say that a whole-food plant based diet is the ideal diet for human health on many different sections of the site. We aren’t uneducated about the science on this subject and do actively promote a WFPB lifestyle.

    For many though, ethics is a far more powerful motivator than health. Cigarette smokers can still live an ethical lifestyle, right?

    Veganism is by its very nature an ethical position as per the definition from Vegan Society: (https://www.vegansociety.com/go-vegan/definition-veganism).

    Reply
      Jennilee says September 5, 2017

      I just wanted to add that cigarette smokers aren’t leading an ethical lifestyle. Cigarettes are tested on animals. Also there’s a lot of unnecessary waste from smoking cigarettes as well as the damage caused to companion animals.

      Reply
Kristen says October 10, 2017

You forgot about Betty Crocker as far as vegan frostings go. They’ve confirmed for me that all of their tub frostings (and cakes) are vegan unless there is a milk ingredient listed. However, you also forgot about another potential non vegan ingredient listed in some cakes and frostings – mono and diglycerides. As mentioned, Betty Crocker confirmed that the diglycerides listed in their cakes are from vegetable sources, but some companies use animal sources, as this is quite literally a fancy way of saying “fats.”

Reply
Add Your Reply