Is Taco Bell Hot Sauce Vegan? We Cover Mild, Hot, Fire, Red & Diablo

Disclosure: As Amazon Associates we earn from qualifying purchases. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission at no additional cost to you.

Wondering about taco bell hot sauce and whether it’s vegan? In this guide we will cover a bunch of different flavors including Mild, Hot, Fire, Red and Diablo.

Is Taco Bell Hot Sauce Vegan

Here’s what you need to know…

Don’t have time to read? Here’s a quick summary of the products we recommend.

Product Name Grade
Mild Sauce A+
Hot Sauce A
Fire Sauce A
Diablo Sauce A+

Is Taco Bell Hot Sauce Vegan?

Would we make your day if we said that Taco Bell’s hot sauces are certified vegan?

Because they are!

According to Taco Bell’s Ingredient Statements, the chain’s Border sauces (and red sauce, a very mild Taco Bell hot sauce cousin) are guaranteed vegan.

Let’s check them out.

The Border Sauce Ingredients

Taco Bell makes four Border sauces: Mild, Hot, Fire and Diablo.

We’ll read the ingredients for all four.

Mild Sauce

Check Price on Amazon >>

Ingredients: Tomato puree (tomato paste, water), vinegar, food starch or xanthan gum, salt, chili spices, sugar, natural flavors, potassium sorbate and sodium benzoate (P), maltodextrin, garlic concentrate (contains soy). Contains: Soy –>[certified vegan].<–

All plants here.

Hot Sauce

Taco Bell Home Originals, Hot Restaurant Sauce, 7.5 Oz (Pack of 2)

Check Price on Amazon >>

Ingredients: Tomato puree (water, tomato paste), jalapeno, vinegar, food starch, salt, chili spices, minced onion, sugar, natural flavors, maltodextrin, potassium sorbate and sodium benzoate (P), garlic concentrate (contains soy). Contains: Soy [certified vegan].


Fire Sauce

Taco Bell Fire Sauce Glass Bottle, 7.5 OZ

Side Note: Trying to figure out how to go vegan in a healthy and sustainable way?
Check out this vegan starter kit

Check Price on Amazon >>

Ingredients: Tomato puree (tomato paste, water), jalapeno peppers, vinegar, modified food starch, chili powder, minced onion, onion juice, spices, natural flavors (contains wheat and soy), xanthan gum, salt, potassium sorbate and sodium benzoate (P), garlic powder, paprika (VC). Contains: Wheat, Soy [certified vegan].

Still in Veganville.

Diablo Sauce

Taco Bell Diablo Sauce (7.5 oz Bottle)

Check Price on Amazon >>

Ingredients: Tomato puree (water, tomato paste), seasoning (modified tapioca starch, salt, spices, sugar, maltodextrin, garlic powder, onion powder, natural flavors, xanthan gum, disodium inosinate and guanylate, paprika extracts), vinegar, sodium acid sulfate, potassium sorbate and sodium benzoate (P). [certified vegan].

Check, check and check.

Taco Bell’s Border sauces are all different levels of cry-worthiness, but yep – they’re all vegan.

But then there’s that red sauce…

Is Taco Bell Red Sauce Vegan?

Taco Bell’s red sauce is an enchilada-like sauce that goes on burritos, tacos – you name it.

Well, that’s vegan, too.

Red Sauce Ingredients

This is what Taco Bell puts in its red sauce:

Ingredients: Water, seasoning (maltodextrin, modified corn starch, paprika, salt, tomato powder, spices, natural flavors, paprika (VC), onion powder, xanthan gum, malic acid, vitamin C, citric acid, torula yeast). [certified vegan].

There it is again: certified vegan.

If you never thought Taco Bell could be for vegans, there’s actually a decent menu (hint: the black beans and flour tortillas are vegan, too).

And now that you know the hot sauces are vegan, well…everyone knows it’s the sauce that makes the burrito.

More Vegan Condiments

If the prospect of vegan Taco Bell hot sauce is making you salivate, there are more vegan condiments to explore!

See our list of essential condiments for the vegan kitchen.

You might want to take a peek at these, too…

Wait! Before you go....

Want to take all of the guess-work around going vegan?

Click here to check out the Vegan Starter Kit.