Is Chipotle Sauce Vegan? Vegan Chipotle Sauce Brands

Disclosure: As Amazon Associates we earn from qualifying purchases. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission at no additional cost to you.

Is Chipotle Sauce Vegan? Do vegan chipotle sauce brands exist? We cover what you need to know in this easy-to-understand article.

is chipotle sauce vegan

Find the answers and brands to buy below…

Don’t have time to read? Here’s a quick summary of the products we recommend.

Product Name Grade
Just Chipotle Mayo Vegannaise A
La Costena Chipotle Sauce A+
Herdez Chipotle Sauce A+
Cholula Chipotle Hot Sauce A+
Kraft Chipotle Aioli A+

Is Chipotle Sauce Vegan?

Sometimes. It simply depends on which type of chipotle sauce you’re talking about.

If you’re talking about a chipotle-mayo, it’s usually NOT vegan.

Let’s dive into some of the varieties of chipotle sauce and see if they’re vegan or not…

If you’re specifically concerned about Taco Bell, see the post we did on Taco Bell chipotle mayo.

Vegan Chipotle Sauce Brands

Just Chipotle Mayo Vegannaise


Check Price on Amazon >>

Here’s an example of a chipotle mayo sauce that’s vegan – most of them are not. JUST is the #1 brand to look for when it comes to vegan thick creamy sauces. They have all sorts of dressings from the ranch, Caesar, and much more.

Ingredients: Non-GMO Expeller Pressed Canola Oil, Filtered Water, Chipotle Puree (chipotle, water, salt, citric acid), White Vinegar, 2% or less of the following: Organic Sugar, Salt, Red Pepper Sauce (red peppers, vinegar, salt), Pea Protein, Spices, Garlic, Modified Food Starch, Lemon Juice Concentrate, Fruit and Vegetable Juice (color), Calcium Disodium EDTA (to preserve freshness).

La Costena Chipotle Sauce

la costena chipotle sauce

 

This is a canned chipotle sauce that’s commonly found in the ethnic section of many grocery stores. The ingredients are as follows…

Ingredients: Tomato Puree, Vinegar, Iodized Salt, Soybean Oil, Onion, Chipotle Peppers, Sugar, Paprika, and Spices.

As you can see, there are no animal products to be found. It’s vegan-approved!

Herdez Chipotle Sauce

Side Note: Trying to figure out how to go vegan in a healthy and sustainable way?
Check out this vegan starter kit

herdez chipotle sauce

 

Here’s another famous brand of chipotle sauce by Herdez. The ingredients are as follows…

Ingredients: Water, Tomato Paste, Distilled Vinegar, Soybean Oil, Iodized Salt, Chipotle Pepper, Dehydrated Onion, Sugar, Garlic Powder, Xanthan Gum, Spices

Again, no animal products – so it’s vegan!

Cholula Chipotle Hot Sauce

cholula chipotle hot sauce

 

Now my personal favorite, Cholula! Here are the ingredients…

Ingredients: Water, Vinegar (White & Apple), Sugar, Peppers (Chipotle, Guajillo, Arbol & Piquin), Salt, Natural Flavors, Spices, Xanthan Gum, Silicon Dioxide, Citric Acid & Caramel.

Again, it’s mainly peppers and spices – no animal products here.

Non-Vegan Chipotle Sauce Example

Kraft Chipotle Aioli

kraft chipotle mayo

 

Now, here’s one of that chipotle-style mayos I talked about. And here are the ingredients…

Ingredients: Soybean Oil, Water, Chipotle Pepper Puree, Vinegar, Eggs, Salt, Contains Less Than 2% Of Sugar, Egg Yolks, Modified Foodstarch, Natural Flavor, Citric Acid, Lemon Juice Concentrate, Dried Garlic, Dried Onions, Paprika, Mustard Oil, Calcium Disodium Edta (To Preserve Freshness), Potassium Sorbate And Sodium Benzoate (To Preserve Freshness).

As you can see, it’s got eggs to give it the creamy-mayo style. In other words, not vegan.

More Vegan Sauces & Condiments

Want to learn about other vegan condiments? There are tons out there to help you spice up your life…

Wait! Before you go....

Want to take all of the guess-work around going vegan?

Click here to check out the Vegan Starter Kit.

Leave a Comment