Is Horseradish Vegan? The Answer is Spicy…

Disclosure: As Amazon Associates we earn from qualifying purchases. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission at no additional cost to you.

In this article, we’ll be taking a look at the vegan status of horseradish and telling you everything you need to know…

Is Horseradish Vegan?

grated horseradish

Horseradish on it’s own is 100% vegan. It’s simply a root vegetable that’s used as a flavoring or grated to make all sorts of spicy sauces.

However, where vegans need to be careful is horseradish condiments. Many sauces made with horseradish either contain dairy, mayo (which has eggs) or both. 

That said, if you’re buying a product that has horseradish in it you’re best always double checking the labels.

Read Also: Is Wasabi Vegan?

Examples of Horseradish Products

  • Horseradish Mayo – This is probably the most common type of horseradish product that you’ll see on the store shelf. The easiest way to recognize it is the fact that it’s white and creamy looking. Be very careful because these types of products usually are NOT vegan.
  • Horseradish Mustard – Luckily, most horseradish mustard products that you’ll find don’t contain any animal products. It’s a great condiment for sandwiches or for making salad dressings.
  • Jarred Grated Horseradish (white) – You’ll usually see this stuff around the Jewish aisle since it’s commonly served during the Passover holiday. It literally looks like a grated root vegetable but also can contain vinegar and salt. Odds are it’s 100% vegan.
  • Red Jarred Horseradish – This is the same was the white stuff except it has added beets. That’s what makes it red! And yes it’s totally vegan-friendly.

Make Your Own Vegan Creamy Horseradish

Side Note: Trying to figure out how to go vegan in a healthy and sustainable way?
Check out this vegan starter kit

If you’re craving the creamy stuff, it’s not that hard to make on your own. Here are two quick and easy ways to do it.

The first way is quick and easy:

  • Take your favorite vegan mayonnaise and mix with white grated horseradish.
  • Use as much as you want, but taste it as you’re mixing in a little bit at a time.
  • Spread on your favorite sandwiches or use as a condiment.
  • You can also mix a little bit of vegan mayo in a horseradish mustard.

The second way is a little more involved…

  • Make a cashew cream by blending 1 part cashews to 1/4 cup water.
  • Bring some flavor to it with lemon juice, salt and pepper so it’s flavorful and tangy.
  • Mix in jarred horseradish to create the most delectable homemade vegan horseradish spread that you’ve ever tasted.

Wrap Up

So now you know that horseradish is vegan most of the time. Just be careful of getting jarred or bottled sauced that have dairy products or egg products in them. 

Get a little creative and try making your own if you’re craving a creamy spread or just get a horseradish mustard and mix a little bit of vegan mayo in there to simulate the creamy stuff in no time flat.

Wait! Before you go....

Want to take all of the guess-work around going vegan?

Click here to check out the Vegan Starter Kit.