Here's everything you want to know about whether or not vegans can eat chocolate...
Can Vegans Eat Chocolate?
Absolutely! There are so many vegan chocolate options out there, that it might be possible to list them all.
The only thing that vegans need to be aware of when buying chocolate is milk. Usually, it's obvious as non-vegan chocolate products are labeled as "milk chocolate".
Check out this vegan starter kit
However, it's important to double dark chocolate labels as well. Many of the more popular brands like Hershey's Dark Chocolate have milk in their dark chocolate bar - what a shame!
Look for higher cacao percentages when you're shopping around. Chocolate bars or chips that are over 60% cacao usually don't have any milk products.
What Kind of Chocolate Can Vegans EAt?
If you're looking for additional resources, we've put together several guides and round-ups for plant-based chocolates. Here a few examples of the types of chocolates vegans can eat with links to their respective guides...
- Vegan Dark Chocolate Brands: As we mentioned, there are tons of bars of dark chocolate for vegans to buy. There are vegan versions of "milk" chocolate out there that are made with rice milk or other non-dairy alternatives.
- Vegan Hot Cocoa: Winter is here and hot cocoa is in. Luckily there are plenty of vegan options out there.
- Vegan White Chocolate Chips: The holidays aren't complete without cookies made with macadamia nuts and white chocolate chips. Yes! There are vegan options.
- Vegan White Chocolate Bars: White chocolate doesn't necessarily have milk. We've got a guide on vegan white chocolate bars for when you don't want the dark stuff.
That's it! Check out the links above to find the exact type of vegan chocolate you're looking for...
Want to take all of the guess-work around going vegan?
Click here to check out the Vegan Starter Kit.