Belgian waffles...They're on brunch menus across the U.S. - but do they contain animal products?
Find out what the vegan status of the famous Belgian waffle is below.
Are Belgian Waffles Vegan?
In general, Belgian waffles are not vegan. If you look up traditional Belgian waffle recipes, you'll find dairy in all of them.
They're sure to contain ingredients like eggs, butter and buttermilk if you get them at a restaurant, and unless you find the word "vegan" on the box, the frozen Belgian-style waffles at the supermarket will most likely have animal products in them.
Even some of the store-bought Belgian waffle mixes aren't vegan, so you can't simply omit the eggs and dairy while you whip these up.
But there are some exceptions.
Let's check it out...
Vegan Belgian Waffle Mixes
We were able to find one vegan Belgian waffle mix. This Krusteaz box...
The Light & Crispy variety of Krusteaz Belgian Waffle Mix doesn't have any animal products...
*Ingredients: Enriched Bleached Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamin Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid, Malted Barley Flour), Sugar, Baking Soda, Maltodextrin. Less Than 2% Of: Sodium Aluminum Phosphate, Monocalcium Phosphate, Salt, Dextrose, Soybean Oil, Isolated Soy Protein, Natural Flavor.
That said, the directions call for eggs in the Light and Crispy mix - so just be sure to use a flax egg or egg replacer instead.
**We were able to find multiple ingredient statements for this product, so it's obviously changed a few times. It seemed to have egg whites in an older version we found. Be sure to double check before buying.
Other Vegan Waffle Options
It's pretty easy to make vegan Belgian waffles at home - especially with ingredients like Aquafaba...