Wondering if tartar sauce is vegan? Or looking for vegan tartar sauce brands?
You're in the right place...
Because it is usually mayo-based, tartar sauce is not vegan. Since mayonnaise contains eggs, tartar sauce contains eggs by association.
This applies to both ordering it in a restaurant or buying it in a store.
Let's dive into the ingredients of tartar sauce to learn more...
Tartar Sauce Ingredients
Here are the ingredients for Old Bay Tartar Sauce (linked above). The non-veg ingredient(s) have been made bold.
Ingredients: Soybean Oil, Water, Distilled Vinegar, Sugar, Dill Pickles, Onion, Egg Yolks, Modified Corn Starch, Salt, Dextrose, Spice, Xanthan Gum (Thickener), 1/10 of 1% Sodium Benzoate (Added as a Preservative), Calcium Disodium EDTA (Added to Protect Flavor), Propylene Glycol Alginate (Thickener), Citric Acid, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Paprika, and Polysorbate 80 (as an Emulsifier).
Check out this vegan starter kit
But not to worry, there are vegan options available.
Vegan Tartar Sauce Brands
We could only find one vegan tartar sauce brand and that is Follow Your Heart. You can find it at the link below.
[amazon fields=”B00CHTTFVM” value=”thumb” image_size=”large”]
Source: [amazon fields=”B00CHTTFVM” value=”link” title=”Amazon.com“]
It's also available at almost any Whole Foods, Target or other stores that carry Follow Your Heart.
More Vegan Condiment Options
Did you know that there are tons of vegan condiments out there?
Check out our full list of the ones to keep on hand here.
And if you like tartar sauce, you might also like...
Hey, I’m Joey. I’ve been cooking since I was a little kid and love everything about it. You can find my writing about food, kitchen appliances (such as blenders) and much more. Thanks for stopping by!
Want to take all of the guess-work around going vegan?
Click here to check out the Vegan Starter Kit.