Is Polenta Vegan (Yes, But Beware Of These Weird Exceptions…)

Disclosure: As Amazon Associates we earn from qualifying purchases. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission at no additional cost to you.

In this guide, we’ll answer the simple question: Is Polenta Vegan? We’ll also give you some tips for serving polenta vegan-style for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

is polenta vegan

Here’s everything you need to know…

Is Polenta Vegan?

Yes!Polenta is typically just cornmeal and water, making it 100 percent vegan.There are a few things to be aware of, though.

Often, preparing polenta involves cooking it with butter (not vegan), and some recipes also call for cheese.If you’re eating out, this is probably how your polenta will be served.

However, this won’t be an issue with most polentas you buy as even the seasoned loaves don’t have any animal products.Keep in mind, some flavorings added to polenta can include parmesan cheese, but this is very rare from our research.

Need help making your vegan grocery list?Check out our guide on vegan shopping here.

What Is Polenta?

Polenta can be purchased in primarily two different forms: as a flour or as a premade product.Both are essentially corn grits that are sometimes seasoned with spices.In the premade product, there’s also added water.

The plain variety is the most popular and the most traditional style used in Italy.Typically, polenta is part of a dish instead of the whole dish, like mashed potatoes.You’re not likely to eat it all by itself.

What Does Polenta Look Like?

picture of sliced polenta on a white background

Most of the time, if you’re buying ready-made polenta from the grocery store, it comes in the shape of a log.It’s buttery yellow with a firm texture that gives just a little bit when you apply pressure.

If you order polenta from a restaurant, you’ll get what looks like a bowl of grits or porridge.This is the super soft and creamy type.

Some restaurants do polenta “fries,” meaning polenta cut into sticks and prepared like French fries.They’re generally much thicker than French fries and crispy on the outside while maintaining a nice softness on the inside.

Ingredients in Polenta Brnads

We’re going to look at the ingredient lists in standard polentas from a few different brands at the grocery store.These brands are widely available, in case you’re looking to try one.

You’ll notice that all of these recipes start off the same way: with water and corn meal.From there, they get a little bit varied, but not too much, and they’re all vegan—even the flavored one.

Side Note: Trying to figure out how to go vegan in a healthy and sustainable way?
Check out this vegan starter kit

Here’s a helpful tip: The name of the polenta flavor is telling.If the name were to include something like “parmesan” or “bacon,” you’d be able to count on it incorporating these ingredients.But most flavors are vegetable-based.


Ingredients: Water, Organic Yellow Corn Meal, Organic Dehydrated Garlic, Salt, Organic Basil, Tartaric Acid*, Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C), Beta Carotene (Vitamin A).

Ancient Harvest Basil Garlic Polenta is made with mostly the same ingredients, through it also contains garlic and salt.

What Does Polenta Go With?

Polenta can replace the starch on your plate.

Read Also: Our Top Sweet Potato Fries Cutter Picks

Among the best ingredients for delectable polenta are mushrooms, garlic, onions, greens, broccoli rabe, tomatoes and all manner of veggies.

Savory flavors are most frequently paired with polenta, though there are sweet polenta desserts and French toast-esque breakfasts (made vegan with plant milk and vegan butter) drizzled with maple syrup.

If you’re just getting started, try a lunch of pan-fried polenta with salad or a creamy polenta dinner (made with vegan butter) topped with sauteed mushrooms, garlic and truffle oil.Yum.


Wait! Before you go....

Want to take all of the guess-work around going vegan?

Click here to check out the Vegan Starter Kit.