Are Waffle House Waffles Vegan? What You Need to Know…

are waffle house waffles vegan

Waffle House has some options that are already vegan (tip: get the hash browns), but a waffle option doesn't seem to be among them.

While we don't have access to the exact Waffle House waffle recipe, we've snagged a "copycat" recipe from Restaurant Manager Magazine. This recent source also implies that the waffles aren't vegan nation-wide.

Let's get into the ingredients.

We won't list out the entire recipe here, but here are the main ingredients (without quantities).

Ingredients: Flour, Salt, Baking Soda, Eggs, Sugar, Butter, Shortening, Half-and-Half, Milk, Buttermilk, Vanilla.

Assuming Restaurant Manager Magazine's recipe approximates Waffle House's, Waffle House waffles are not vegan given the eggs and dairy products.

What does that mean for vegans — do all waffles everywhere have animal products in them?

Vegan Waffle Options

Fret not! Vegans can eat waffles, too. Just the plant-based kind.

Check out some of these vegan pancake and waffle mixes.

Want to know about the frozen types?

See our list of the top vegan frozen waffle brands at the store. 

For more information on sustainable vegan eating, download the ThriveCuisine printable grocery list with tips for easy vegan cooking, shopping and more.

Leave a Comment