Are Frosted Mini Wheats Vegan? (The Surprising Answer…)

Disclosure: As Amazon Associates we earn from qualifying purchases. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission at no additional cost to you.

frosted mini wheats

Quick Answer: Frosted Mini Wheats are not vegan because they contain gelatin! This is a rare thing to see in cereal, and it’s a shame, but it’s the truth.

There are a few other things you should know, so let’s learn a bit more…

Frosted Mini Wheats Ingredients

Ingredients: Whole grain wheat, sugar, contains 2% or less of brown rice syrup, gelatin, BHT for freshness. Vitamins and Minerals: Reduced iron, niacinamide, vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride), vitamin B2 (riboflavin), vitamin B1 (thiamin hydrochloride), zinc oxide, folic acid, vitamin B12.

As you can see, the company uses “gelatin” most likely as a binding agent for this product. 

What is Gelatin and Why Is It Not Vegan?

Gelatin is an ingredient that’s made from collagen extracted from animal parts. It’s made by dissolving cartilage rich cuts of meat, flesh or bones into water. This creates stock that’s similar to jello. For cooking purposes, it’s usually made into a powder so that it can be transported and used easily in your kitchen.

Side Note: Trying to figure out how to go vegan in a healthy and sustainable way?
Check out this vegan starter kit

So because it’s a blatantly labeled animal product, this cereal is immediately ruled out as non-vegan friendly.

But not to fear, there are many other healthier and tasty options to begin your day.

Check out the following post to learn more…

‚Äč40 Amazing Vegan Cereals to Start Your Morning

Wait! Before you go....

Want to take all of the guess-work around going vegan?

Click here to check out the Vegan Starter Kit.