Is Tomato Basil Soup Vegan?
The short answer is: it depends, but most of the time tomato soups are vegan.
However, the problem is that not ALL of their tomato basil soups are vegan. For example, we found no animal products in Campbell's healthy request line, but found dairy products in their "standard" tomato basil soup.
So you can see for yourself, here were the ingredients in that soup (the non-veg ingredients are bolded)...
Ingredients: Tomato Puree (Water, Tomato Paste), Water, Sugar, Contains Less Than 2% Of: Modified Food Starch, Salt, Wheat Flour, Butter (Cream [Milk]), Monosodium Glutamate, Citric Acid, Basil, Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C), Flavoring, Celery Extract, Garlic Oil.
You can check out the links above to find tomato basil soup products from either of these brands (Cambell's or Progresso) or see our guide to Vegan Tomato Soup Brands here.
What to Look Out For
Because it varies so much, it's always a good idea to double check any label when you're buying a tomato basil soup.
But there are a few tell-tale signs that it won't be vegan.
For example, if something is called a "tomato basil bisque" there's a good chance that it's going to have dairy or some sort of other animal products in it.
The other is if it looks to be on the "white" side. This means that it's likely to have cream in it.
On the other hand, if the recipe uses olive oil instead, the tomato soup will take on yellow-ish bubbles rather than having a white tint.
These aren't full-proof methods and there are always exceptions, but it is a good starting point!
More Vegan Soup Options
Now that you've got the down-low on on vegan tomato basil soup, why not see what other vegan soups are out there?
There's probably way more than you think!
If you're a lover of soups then you'll definitely want to check out...
They'll definitely help you keep warm this winter.