Are Tootsie Rolls Vegan? (The Facts Behind This Nostalgic Candy)

Disclosure: As Amazon Associates we earn from qualifying purchases. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission at no additional cost to you.

photo of tootsie roll

Verdict: The answer is no. Tootsie rolls are not vegan because they contain milk.

Let’s have a closer look at the ingredient statement directly from

Ingredients: Sugar, Corn Syrup, Palm Oil, Condensed Skim Milk, Cocoa, Whey, Soy Lecithin, Artificial and Natural Flavors.

Not only does this product have condensed skim milk, but it also has whey which is a byproduct from cheese manufacturing.

Since many candy manufactures are moving in more of a vegan-direction nowadays, you can use the link above to contact them and let them know you’d buy the product if it didn’t have milk!

Side Note: Trying to figure out how to go vegan in a healthy and sustainable way?
Check out this vegan starter kit

At the time of writing this, there aren’t really any other candies on the market that are similar, but you can make things at home if you’re really having a craving.

Since Tootsie rolls are basically fudge in a wrapper, I found this video recipe that you could use to replicate it for your kids or even yourself!

Interesting Aside: The company that makes Tootsie Rolls also makes Junior Mints which have an interesting vegan-status. Learn more about it here.

All you need is…

  • Cocoa powder 
  • Powdered sugar 
  • Almond milk (or milk substitute) 
  • Vanilla extract 
  • Vegan butter

Check it out!

Read Also: Are Nerds Vegan?

Wait! Before you go....

Want to take all of the guess-work around going vegan?

Click here to check out the Vegan Starter Kit.