Are Hot Fries Vegan?

Disclosure: As Amazon Associates we earn from qualifying purchases. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission at no additional cost to you.

In this post, we’re going to be taking a look at Hot Fries to determine whether or not they are vegan friendly. Let’s get into it!

Are Hot Fries Vegan?

are hot fries vegan

After examining the ingredients of two different types of hot fries, it is clear that they are not vegan. The main culprit is the fact that they contain milk.

We looked at two different types of Hot Fries, one by Andy Capp’s and the other by Chester’s. Both of them had dairy.


For the sake of example, let’s look at the different ingredients in Andy Capp’s Hot Fries…

  • Degermed Yellow Cornmeal
  • Vegetable Oil (Palm and/or Cottonseed Oil),
  • Dried Potatoes
  • Water
  • Whey – This is the non-vegan ingredient.
  • Salt
  • Dextrose
  • Torula Yeast
  • Spices Including Mustard
  • TBHQ (for freshness)
  • Monosodium Glutamate
  • Spice Extractives Including Paprika
  • Tomato Powder
  • Mono- and Diglycerides
  • Soybean Oil, Silicon Dioxide
  • Natural and Artificial Flavor
  • Garlic Powder

Since whey is derived from milk, we can confidently say that this snack is not vegan friendly.

The Chester’s variety also had whey, but it also had buttermilk, making them even less vegan than the Andy Capps (if there is such a thing – I’m making a joke).


If you’ve been hankering for an indulgent snack, then there are many vegan-friendly alternatives to hot fries. Obviously, I could suggest things like kale chips, but odds are you’re craving something a bit different.


Side Note: Trying to figure out how to go vegan in a healthy and sustainable way?
Check out this vegan starter kit

There are a few different flavors of takis that are vegan. If you’ve never heard of takis before they’re basically a rolled tortilla chip with all sorts of seasoning. They aren’t the healthiest snack of all time (not even close), but if you’re having some sort of craving it’s good to know that you can still be vegan and enjoy this snack. See our post below to learn more…

Real Potatoes

If you want to enjoy something with a potato-like flavor profile, then it’s actually pretty easy to make your own hot fries that are a bit healthier. Try this…

  • Slice potatoes in the same shape (match-sticks) and lay out on a baking try.
  • Spray them with a non-stick olive oil spray and season with smoked paprika, salt and cayenne pepper.
  • Bake for around 20 minutes or until they are crispy.
  • Enjoy a much healthier version of vegan hot fries.

Wrap Up

So even though the answer to “are hot fries vegan” is no, that does not mean you should fret!

There are a whole wide variety of vegan snacks out there to be had and lots of healthier ways to prepare delicious foods at home.

Be sure to keep exploring and I promise you’ll find things that you didn’t even know you liked. For many, being vegan expands their palate and foods they eat rather than contracts it.


Wait! Before you go....

Want to take all of the guess-work around going vegan?

Click here to check out the Vegan Starter Kit.