are doritos vegan

Are Doritos Vegan?

At Thrive Cuisine, we work hard to make you the best recommendations on food & appliances in the kitchen. One of the ways we support ourselves is by getting a small commission on some purchases made through our links at no cost to our readers.

ANSWER: We were actually able to find ONE Dortito flavor that's vegan and that's the Spicy Sweet Chili Doritos. After first believing that a vegan Dorito's Flavor did not exist, we were happy to stumble upon this flavor.

What Makes a Dorito a Dorito?

UPDATE 7/27/2017 - Given that we just located a Dorito's flavor that is vegan - we've linked it here. The rest of the article is still a good resource for making healthier versions of Doritos.

The reason why Doritos taste delicious is because each crunchy corn chip has the perfect balance of fat, salt, tanginess, coolness, and spice. Anyone who has ever tried a Dorito knows that they can be downright addicting. Luckily, these flavor profiles are not exclusive to animal products, so finding them in similar plant based alternatives or making them from scratch isn't too hard!

What Does a Typical Ingredient Statement Look Like?

As you might already know, there are a lot of ingredients in Doritos. The majority chunk of the ingredients that make it so long are either colors, flavors and flavor enhancers (msg) , cheese powders and seasonings. We transcribed the entire ingredient statement from the Dorito's website below:

Corn, Vegetable Oil, Maltodextrin, Salt, Cheddar Cheese, Whey, Monosodium Glutamate, Buttermilk, Romano Cheese, Whey Protein Concentrate, Onion Powder, Corn Flour, Natural and Artificial Flavor, Dextrose, Tomato Powder, Lactose, Spices, Artificial Color, Lactic Acid, Citric Acid, Sugar, Garlic Powder, Skim Milk, Red and Green Bell Pepper Powder, Disodium Inosinate, and Disodium Guanylate

Going further down the rabbit hole, it turns out that enzymes derived from pork could be hiding in some of your Frito Lay Snacks. They have an entire list on their website (linked here) of products that do not contain pork, so one can only assume that the rest of their products do. Buyer beware!

What Kind of Vegan Snacks are Like Doritos?

Even though its not a corn chip, Rhythm Superfoods Zesty Nacho kale chips are a great alternative for Doritos. I know what you're thinking - you hate kale. Don't worry, these chips don't taste like any sort of bland kale that you're used to. They're crunchy, fatty, and are sure to fill the gap.

​If you're a vegan snack junkie, we've written extensively on other treats you might be interested in including marshmallows, jello, animal crackers, ramen, and hot chocolate!

How Would I Make Doritos at Home?

For an easy way to make "vegan doritos" check out the video below.

All of the ingredients can be found at any grocery store besides the nutitional yeast. In the vegan world, nutritional yeast is used to bring cheesy notes to basically any food you can think of. If you've never tried it, it truly is delicious and readily available online.

Conclusion on Doritos

As you delve farther into the world of plant-based eating, you'll quickly learn that there's nothing exclusively special to Doritos. Learning how to use new ingredients such as nutritional yeast will give you the tools you need to create all kinds of cheesy flavors for different types of foods including hard vegan cheese and cheese sauces!

About the Author Joey Bruno

Cooking healthy, delicious, plant-based meals has been Joey’s true passion since he went vegan in 2015. He has a masters in Nutrition and Food Science and is committed to making the internet a place of education and knowledge rather than misinformation and clickbait. He currently lives in Delaware with his wife.

Leave a Comment: